Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

In need of someone with some serious 2006 ve commodore knowledge

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by Kate78, Mar 31, 2020.

  1. Kate78

    Kate78 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Parkes
    Members Ride:
    Ve Commodore
    I paid 11500 for my ve commodore second hand last September and have had nothing but fault after fault for last 3 months, just had transmission oil n filter done as it needed a new internal switch in the transmission (cant think right now what the switch is called correctly) and tried clearing codes when got it home. Codes wont clear and now the po500 is showing up... Some bloody decent advice be really great right now.
     
  2. Asmodai78

    Asmodai78 Active Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V Sportwagon
    take it back to where you got the transmission services and get them to clear the codes
     
  3. Kate78

    Kate78 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Parkes
    Members Ride:
    Ve Commodore
    They told me to go back to the auto electrician I first took it too who sent me to the transmission specialist to get it fixed and now they want me to go back to the auto electrician to get it done as they couldn't do it..
     
  4. Kate78

    Kate78 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Parkes
    Members Ride:
    Ve Commodore
    Just seems like there trying to line each others pockets with my money ☹
     
  5. h8tensv6

    h8tensv6 Active Member

    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 SV6 2002 VX 1989 VN 5 Litre
    Take your car to supercheap to get the codes cleared if those 2 guys are stuffing you around. They did one for me last week for $14 on another car (not VE). If your trans repair was done correctly the codes should clear. Not sure what po500 code is but they can tell you if it's related to your trans or not.
     
  6. 1985VK

    1985VK Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VK SL
    Google says ... "The P0500 diagnostic trouble code tells us there is a fault found with the vehicle speed sensor. The speed sensor is monitored by the ECU and when it fails to operate properly the P0500 code is set."

    How can anyone not know anything anymore is beyond me ...
     
  7. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,420
    Likes Received:
    976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    The trans shop sounds hopeless. They should be able to read and clear transmission fault codes. Did they say they tried to clear it?
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  8. markalan1two

    markalan1two Smile and wave boys !!!!

    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    272
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    X5 BMW, GenF2 GTS, HSV Y R8, Audi S3, Corolla
    po500 is that the speed sensor fault? get the transmission guy to check they plugged it back in
     
  9. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    She says she tried clearing it but it wouldn't clear. This means that the fault is still present.
    The DTC will only clear when the PCM doesn't detect a fault.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  10. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    So, hang on.
    Did you ask them to repair the fault, or just change the oil and filter? or both?
    What does your invoice say?
     
  11. Kate78

    Kate78 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Parkes
    Members Ride:
    Ve Commodore
    Hi Mechanic ,
    Where I took the car to have the transmission done said they couldnt do it as they didn't have the equipment which I thought was strange and told me I needed to take it back to the place I initially had it done at..
     
  12. Kate78

    Kate78 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Parkes
    Members Ride:
    Ve Commodore
    They repaired the fault which was the inhibitor switch within the transmission and also changed the oil and filter
     
  13. Kate78

    Kate78 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Parkes
    Members Ride:
    Ve Commodore
    Yes after some research I discovered that this is what the fault was.. but why after getting one thing fixed another now shows up.. could this new code be why the stability control off, check engine and contact dealer alerts are all still on??
     
  14. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,420
    Likes Received:
    976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Disconnecting the battery for a few minutes clears most codes, you could try that.
     
  15. Kate78

    Kate78 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Parkes
    Members Ride:
    Ve Commodore
    Of course that's been tried.. booked in for yet another auto electrician visit today so will find out i guess
     
  16. HarryHoudini

    HarryHoudini Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    1991 VN ..2012 VE Sportwagon.
    As much as i hate to say it large Dealerships are the go,not much they haven't seen with VE/VF's over the last 13 years .The extra $ are well worth it in the long run instead of going around in circles with 3rd parties.
     
  17. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,080
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA.
    Members Ride:
    Slug powered VZ, a VE Calais & your mum.
    Isn't the speed sensor internal on the auto trans as well?
     

Share This Page