Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Inaccurate Level 3 Cluster

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by Mr_Slim, Jul 26, 2006.

  1. Mr_Slim

    Mr_Slim Personal Trainer

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais Manual
    Hi guys

    My level 3 cluster seems to be giving inaccurate trip meter readings. if i refresh it at the start of a full tank (63L) then it will say i have 63L in the tank. I'll finish off the tank, with an average of 9.5L/100km, using all but about 2L.

    I will have only done about 550 - 600km, which is about 10.5L/100km not the 9.5L which it quoted

    Then i check fuel used, and it says i only used about 55L of fuel, instead of the 63L in the tank

    Can anyone shed some light on this?
     
  2. stocky

    stocky New Member

    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1995 HSV Clubsport T5, 1991 VN Berlina
    yeah those dashes are never accurate. it just gives an approximate figure. read the manual to find out how to calibrate the dash
     
  3. calais_cruzin

    calais_cruzin Calais_Rattling....

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    92 VP Calais 3.8
    Mine does 11.9/100km n get 550km roughly outta a tank havnt checked me dash latly but ino i only get 11.9/100km....but i havent go CAI like u....i would luv to see those figures on mine...but yeah their not that accurate....mine says i have 0km to empty when ive got 1/4 tank left...
     
  4. calais_cruzin

    calais_cruzin Calais_Rattling....

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    92 VP Calais 3.8
    full tank only says its got 300kms to empty never seen it above that
     
  5. HDT_aero

    HDT_aero Banned

    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    manual VN aero
    hold down the mode or reset button (cant remember wich) on the fuel avg screen and adjust the number with the - and + buttons so it reads 625 this should make it more accurate

    if it is on 625 then let it run out of fuel and add an exact amount of fuel to it and adjust the calibration so it matches the fuel in the tank
     

Share This Page