Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Increasing speed on highways?

BANKS

DW I'm a Spray Painter!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SSZ Ute
Our national standard speed on highways is 100kph, with some hitting 110kph.

Do you think as cars safety features become more advanced that highway speed limits should increase? Or they should stay the same?

Personally I’m sitting on the fence. I think they should increase to become relative to cars but at the same time they shouldn’t due to the fact that the car can’t drive itself, it’s the person sitting in it. No point having a car that can brake from 100 to 0 in 3 seconds if it takes the person 3 seconds to react. Then that leads to another form of highway travelling, automation. BMW have already proven this technology could be implemented into today’s world.

Every time I watch a movie based in the future, highway always seem to be travelling at 200kph with the driver happily plodding along like its the norm, yes its a movie I know lol but do you think this will ever become a reality? Will we get speeding tickets for doing 170 in a 150 zone?

Your thoughts :)

Morton

For external use only
Reaction score
Members Ride
Fairstar the Funship
It'll never happen in this granny state. Never. Not unless there's a big attitude change, and stronger emphasis on driver education, as opposed to punishment.

Until other drivers can learn to concentrate and drive their own damn cars at low speed, I wouldn't feel safe on a freeway with other idiots doing 150kph around me. Australia has such a low standard of drivers it's not funny.

STEALTHY™

So Wet For You!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
BMW have actually proven that doesn't work, at the cost of writing off 3 brand new cars!