Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Install job.

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
g'day all
I have a pioneer H/U and a set of pioneer splits to go in the front doors of my VR stato.
Can someone point me in the right direction to get this done? and approx cost.

Thanks in advance.

kummo.
 

acarmody

Donati..Whoa Green
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
5,920
Reaction score
47
Points
48
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VX Berlina
Where you live might help.
 

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
lol Yeah it would sorry. I live in Melbourne SE Suburbs.
 

Fun_Bucket

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
2,990
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Cairns White Rock
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
Hey Kuhmo, so, you haven't mentioned whether you are looking to have your setup fitted by a specialist, or are you after advice as on how to do it yourself. Assuming your new H/U is a single DIN, fitting a new head unit yourself into a commodore, is more time consuming than difficult for a 1st time attempt.

There is a guide in the "How To Section" on fitted an aftermarket head unit , and theres a thread in the "car Audio Section" detailing a complete wiring diagram in which you can refer to.

Same goes with your front splits, You didn't mention what size they were, but almost any 6-6.5 inch speaker will be pretty much a direct drop in when it comes to replacing the factory ones. The bad part is the entire door trim must be removed, this means window winders , door lock tabs, and any electrics ect. So unless your confident with that, then defenitaley take it to a car audio centre and have them fit it for you.

Fitting price's will obviously vary from each store, as a rough guide, expect to pay up to $100, per part of the instalation, so H/U plus Front speakers = $200:thumbsup:
 

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
Thanks mate thats what i was looking for have been quoted around the $150 mark to install the lot. So i am happy.

Thanks again.
 

ScoHar

Jizz in my pants
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
836
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Location
CHCH, NZ
Members Ride
VS Senator
makes it a whole lot easier if you can find one of those conversion looms, they have them for most common brands of head units, you need one for Pioneer -> Holden then no need to cut any wires, just get the old one out, plug in and mount the new one, biggest problem you'll run into is getting the plastic trimming pieces out, other than that its reasonably easy.
 

StoneX

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
29
Points
0
Age
41
Location
Hastings
Members Ride
VE Calais-V 6.0L
Does that $150 include putting the stacker cable through? That'll be a pretty time consuming part having to pull the trims up and rear seat out.

Who quoted $150?
 

sweefu

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
2,742
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
Canberra
Members Ride
VY Berlina V6 / R31 Skyline
hey mate i've got a vs, so your vr will be almost the same, its easy as to install that stuff, the only hard bit is taking apart all the dash etc but there is a thread in the how to section on this. as for the splits, 6.5inch dont fit into the factory speaker moulds, but they do fit 'on' the factory speaker moulds, so they still go in without much modification, just need to find a place to screw them in. Goodluck mate, feel free to pm me fi you need any help
 

Fun_Bucket

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
2,990
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Cairns White Rock
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
makes it a whole lot easier if you can find one of those conversion looms, they have them for most common brands of head units, you need one for Pioneer -> Holden then no need to cut any wires, just get the old one out, plug in and mount the new one, biggest problem you'll run into is getting the plastic trimming pieces out, other than that its reasonably easy.
If he uses a wiring harness adapter he will have to reverse the constant and accsesories wires, and connect his power antenna aswell.
 

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
Does that $150 include putting the stacker cable through? That'll be a pretty time consuming part having to pull the trims up and rear seat out.

Who quoted $150?
Nah it doesent include the stacker cable i forgot about that was going to spring it on them lol.

Autobarn and Strathfield quoted me $150.

Thanks for all the help guys. I might just get it professionally done because I don’t have the patience. Lol
 
Top