Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Installing CD Player in VS - help

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by Dover1123, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. Dover1123

    Dover1123 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Members Ride:
    05 VZ S Ute
    Hi,

    The other half bought a cd player for her 50th Anaversary ute the other day and has asked me to fit it...

    I've fitted a couple of units into VP's and VG's in the past, but they never had the electric windows and they were both manual which made it easier to remove the console.

    My question is:

    Is there an easier way to remove the existing unit without going through the hassle of removing the centre console?

    Cheers
     
  2. holden007

    holden007 VRII

    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Members Ride:
    Subaru Liberty
    This might be off the topic, VG (i'm thinking Statesman)???
     
  3. Dover1123

    Dover1123 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Members Ride:
    05 VZ S Ute
    Not Statesman, VG as in 1990 model Commodore Ute.
     
  4. blaze

    blaze ridin dirty

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    bunbury
    Members Ride:
    SILVER BULLET
    theres a write up in car audio section i tried to do it uther day and couldnt get it to work. id get it done by a pro if i were u or u can **** ur deck up. they rekon i blew a few fuses tryin to do it
     
  5. holden007

    holden007 VRII

    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Members Ride:
    Subaru Liberty

    Thanks for the info:thumbsup:
     
  6. AGRO_38

    AGRO_38 Formerly SLAYR

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Location:
    Western Sydney
    Members Ride:
    2000 VS UTE
    yes you do need to remove the centre console...this is because the screwes holding on the existing HU are covered by the last piece of centre console which you will remove. Its a pain ;)
     
  7. VS Goon

    VS Goon New Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Windsor 2765
    Members Ride:
    VS commodore wagon V6
    it's actually quite simple, just take the ash tray out and get your fingers under then and pull the console up hard and a few clips pop out, sounds like it hurts the car but its actually fine :) then 4 screws for the cd player surround then the rest is straigh forward
     
  8. SWE11L

    SWE11L New Member

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VS Berlina/ KJ Verada/ 88 Trans Am
    Yeah very easy. Pop off the bit of console around the gear stick, disconnect the cig lighter, unscrew and then pull off the trim around the radio/ air con controls and pull that bit out, open your glove box and down the right hand side you should see 2 or 3 screws take them out, open fuse box lid, same again, down the left side 2 or 3 screws then remove the whole piece of dash and you should be able to get to the headunit from there! Wire up your new unit and put everything back!
     

Share This Page