Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Installing HUD into non HUD vehicle.

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by Cam-ralph, Jul 19, 2019.

  1. Cam-ralph

    Cam-ralph Active Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Wanting to know if anyone has installed a factory HUD into their vehicle that didn’t have it come fitted.

    I know that it can be fitted into any VF and it requires removing the entire dash, cutting a hole in it, fitting the HUD tapping into the correct 5 wires in the correct wiring loom and then refitting the dash and a speedo cluster hood with the HUD cut out.

    What am having trouble with is finding the correct 5 wires to tap into and knowing the exact place to cut the hole.

    I also know that the vehicles that come with it factory fitted have the special windscreen with the reflective laminate in it but I am not concerned about this and believe it still works without it or can stick reflective film to the windscreen if need be.

    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2019
  2. vywgn

    vywgn Active Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    1967 Holden HR Premier Wagon / 2015 VFII SV6 Sedan
    Dash has lines on the underside for where the cut out is required
     
    Cam-ralph likes this.
  3. Cam-ralph

    Cam-ralph Active Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Thanks, good to know and should make things a bit easier, now just the wiring
     
  4. Mattricho

    Mattricho Active Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV my15
    @Cam-ralph I don’t know if you can do it put your probably better off getting a dash out if something that had the HUD already like this one
    562E3719-E6AE-47E2-BBCC-5BC308B2921B.jpeg
    Also keep in mind you well need the HUD controls
    1B777462-58CC-4E75-93D4-38AA7C7F4B64.jpeg
    New dash pad/cover thing
    D3E746A3-88B5-4E0A-8A77-301365A49B20.jpeg
    And the HID unit it’s self
    F9B3994A-1632-4E15-B3D8-DEC00FF10917.jpeg
    And as far you reflective film doesn’t work and windscreen dose need replacing. Then you need someone to reprogram the PCM/BCM (can’t remember what one) for it to work.
     
  5. Cam-ralph

    Cam-ralph Active Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Thanks and yes it is definitely doable, got all the above parts lined up apart from the dash, if I could get the dash that cheap over here in NZ I would, there is no programming required for the HUD.
     
  6. Ron Burgundy

    Ron Burgundy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF II SS
    Good luck with it. I find HUD overated. I came standard on my car and I barelly look at it...
     
  7. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    Keen to see how you go and price. thinking about it myself.
     
  8. Holden17

    Holden17 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Location:
    NthBris
    Members Ride:
    MY16 SV6 ute/MY17 LMF SS wagon
    Interesting Ron..I’ve heard a few people say that but I honestly find it hard to live without when I now drive cars without it.

    Admittedly we’re all different but is it because I’m paranoid and have an aversion to topping up the Govt coffers? I drive through a lot of different speed zones and I find that changing between our V6, V8 and a 4cylinder (the only one of the 3 cars without HUD) I find it difficult to judge speed as precisely as the Govt would have us these days..especially around school zones etc.

    I consider myself a capable driver, licensed for over 40yrs, but I hate taking my eyes off the road to check speed...
     
  9. RED LION

    RED LION Active Member

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    VFII Redline
    I love the HUD I use it all the time.
     
    atimicute likes this.
  10. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,082
    Likes Received:
    3,561
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    Over 30 years for me and I've never understood the issue of taking eyes off the road to check speed.
     
    Ron Burgundy and stooge like this.
  11. Forg

    Forg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
    You don’t live in NSW ... or worse, Victoria. :(
     
  12. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,082
    Likes Received:
    3,561
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    Coz they're the only places that have speed limits, cameras and cops ?

    lol
     
  13. Holden17

    Holden17 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Location:
    NthBris
    Members Ride:
    MY16 SV6 ute/MY17 LMF SS wagon
    I didn’t either until we bought two VFs that have it.
     
  14. tml678

    tml678 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    825
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    HSV30 Senator (w/end), '00 Magna, '17 Carnival
    If I recall correctly @VFSV6FORME did a good write up of this exact job a couple of years back? Haven't the time to search for it at the moment, but he may be able to point you in the right direction.
     
    Cam-ralph likes this.
  15. Cam-ralph

    Cam-ralph Active Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6
    Yeah I had seen his write about what he did, looks like he was after an option to just plug the HUD into the cars harness but there are no HUD plugs in cars that didn’t have it come fitted. So he went with the option of an after market set up which looks like he did a great job just not what I am after.

    I am aware that there are no plugs to have it a plug and play option and I am going to have to wire in the plugs to make it work. Hoping there might be someone on here that has done this and could help out.
     
    abuch47 likes this.
  16. tml678

    tml678 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    825
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    HSV30 Senator (w/end), '00 Magna, '17 Carnival
    Yeah, I didn't read your post properly where you said you wanted a factory unit. :confused:
     
    Cam-ralph likes this.
  17. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    I dont have a hud to look at but i will take a guess and say the data is fed to it via the swcan which is normally a green wire and i would guess there should be a dimmer/brightness control wire unless that is passed through the gmlan.
    It would also need the power wires neg and pos.

    I would start with finding the schematic for the hud and go from there.
     
  18. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Does the WA state government also employ coppers as Road Side Tax Collectors as well?
     
  19. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,082
    Likes Received:
    3,561
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    Yep, and third party contractors too.

    The great thing is it is the one tax that is optional.
     
  20. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    348
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    As Pauline would say "Please explain"?:D
     

Share This Page