Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Installing VS cruise control - no loom

Cobra Clutch

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VS ii
Okay...

I want to install CC on my VS series II.

To my horror, it doesn't have the wiring loom.

There are several bits and pieces of good info around the forum, but it is so messy and mixed and then people always chime in with their own problem and the thread goes to something else.

It seems like a very common problem/project, so I thought it would be cool if we could get a proper once-and-for-all thread going.

Once I've learned how to do it, I could go through the whole process and take pics while I'm installing it and then posted it all up.

Anyone who has the VS factory instructions would be a true gem.

I guess we need to start with a list of components that we need...
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
133
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8

markovr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
2,979
Reaction score
125
Points
63
Age
59
Location
northside brisbane
Website
www.cardomain.com
Members Ride
07vessv 94vr .04vz wgn,93vp wgn,82 vhV6 wgn 88 vn
Yes I did here but the instructions are for a vr most components are the same but the cable end at the throttle setup is different for a ecotec(vs) to the buick(vr) and I have the vs type loom to sell if it interests anyone as the 2 part numbers mentioned in shanes post above.
 
Last edited:

hako

Donating Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
8,020
Reaction score
87
Points
48
Age
77
Location
Toowoomba SE QLD
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6
Okay...

I want to install CC on my VS series II.

To my horror, it doesn't have the wiring loom.



..
If it's a series 11 VS it 'should' have the wiring loom. What makes you think it doesn't?
I recently installed factory CC to my VS series 11 and it was "plug and play".
 

Cobra Clutch

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VS ii
If it's a series 11 VS it 'should' have the wiring loom. What makes you think it doesn't?
I recently installed factory CC to my VS series 11 and it was "plug and play".
Its an Executive.
The reason I think I it doesn't have it because it is not there.
 

hako

Donating Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
8,020
Reaction score
87
Points
48
Age
77
Location
Toowoomba SE QLD
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6
Its an Executive.
The reason I think I it doesn't have it because it is not there.
I'm not trying to put you on the spot - just trying to help. If you think it's not there then OK.
Mine is an Executive as well - and all the wiring was there. Have you checked near the pass side spring tower for the multi-pin plug, and under the steering wheel where the relays are check the CC relay spot has wires behind and also near the brake switch there should be a spare 2 wire plug for the CC brake switch.
There are pix of where to find the plugs etc at:
https://forums.justcommodores.com.a...ll-genuine-cruise-control-vs-executive.102376
 

markovr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
2,979
Reaction score
125
Points
63
Age
59
Location
northside brisbane
Website
www.cardomain.com
Members Ride
07vessv 94vr .04vz wgn,93vp wgn,82 vhV6 wgn 88 vn
Here is a diagram of the wiring
 

Cobra Clutch

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VS ii
I'm not trying to put you on the spot - just trying to help. If you think it's not there then OK.
Mine is an Executive as well - and all the wiring was there. Have you checked near the pass side spring tower for the multi-pin plug, and under the steering wheel where the relays are check the CC relay spot has wires behind and also near the brake switch there should be a spare 2 wire plug for the CC brake switch.
There are pix of where to find the plugs etc at:
https://forums.justcommodores.com.a...ll-genuine-cruise-control-vs-executive.102376
Yeah, its all good, its so many people keep asking me, and as odd as it is, given its a 97 model too, there is no wiring.

I have a series III ute with CC so I know exactly what it looks like and where it is. I was so confident that I bought the CC without even looking.

Oh well, I'll it put down as another notch on my car maintenance degree...lol
 

bradmoffatt1988

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
morwell victoria
Members Ride
1997 Toyota Lexcen
If it's a series 11 VS it 'should' have the wiring loom. What makes you think it doesn't?
I recently installed factory CC to my VS series 11 and it was "plug and play".
is this the same for a 1997 Lexcen CSi ?
 
Top