Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

ipod to VT stock stereo

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by lukedog, Jul 18, 2006.

  1. lukedog

    lukedog New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Tullamarine, VIC
    Members Ride:
    1999 VT II BERLINA
    Just want to know if i can connect an ipod up to my stock VT stereo unit?
     
  2. 253@7k

    253@7k 300rwhp supra. yay.

    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Members Ride:
    TT Supra/HZ Ute.
    cd h/u?

    tm,rdm k
    .o;uilymhdnfgbfdsvcwwwwq
     
  3. lukedog

    lukedog New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Tullamarine, VIC
    Members Ride:
    1999 VT II BERLINA
    yeah just the stock unit in a VT berlina...so CD/casset/radio
     
  4. Thomo

    Thomo UNLEASH THE LION WITHIN

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Goldcoast
    Members Ride:
    FAMILY VT & HONDA 04 CRF250
    yeah u can but u need on of these FM Transmitters.you can buy them on ebay in the car audio section for around $20.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. lukedog

    lukedog New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Tullamarine, VIC
    Members Ride:
    1999 VT II BERLINA
    the manual for the radio shows there should be a AUX imput conector in the front of the unit, but its not there

    Is there wiring in behind the unit where u can get access to a direct AUX input, instead of having to use that thingy
     
  6. Thomo

    Thomo UNLEASH THE LION WITHIN

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Goldcoast
    Members Ride:
    FAMILY VT & HONDA 04 CRF250
    not shore about that i only know of the fm adaptors unless your headunit has a connection on the face i know that some of the new units have a usb plug in the face
     
  7. 253@7k

    253@7k 300rwhp supra. yay.

    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Members Ride:
    TT Supra/HZ Ute.
    aux imput on vt radio/cas only. not on cd.
     
  8. VT Dave

    VT Dave New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Members Ride:
    Supercharged 98 VT S pac
    Yeah, the cd player doesn't have the aux input. I have the stock tape/radio in mine with the aux connection. Funny thing is the radio doesn't work, the tape doesn't work, but the aux does. So i just have my mp3 player running through it. Maybe i should do something about that?
     
  9. bsbozzy

    bsbozzy New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VT S V6 M5
    Do yourself a favour, stay away from the FM Transmitters an get yourself one of those Cassette Tapes that you can hookup to the Ipod. Quality is 100 times better.
     
  10. andrewgrazier

    andrewgrazier New Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
    as the dood above me said
    get a tape if you plan to use it in your car
    the quality of the transmitters isnt very good
    and u have to ususally sit it next to the areial
    id also like to point out that if your in a capital city " eg sydney " you cant use the fm transmitter because they broadcast on almost every damm channel!!! the tapes are like $10 at the markets
     
  11. Miss-E

    Miss-E VTCOM6

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore
    I think at jaycar now they have an ipod fm transmitter that plugs straight into the car arial.

    They have fm tansmitters and the cassette adaptor anyway.
     

Share This Page