Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

JBL GTO front component speaker ???

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by White Lion, Jan 2, 2020.

  1. White Lion

    White Lion Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    JORDAN
    Members Ride:
    statesman 2009 (white Lion)
    Dear all
    my car is caprice 2009


    sta1.jpg

    I am planing to change my original front door speakers and tweeters
    using JBL GTO shown


    810uiVPhu9L._SL1500_.jpg

    as you see the JBL has crossover control unit
    so does my car has crossover ?
    if yes .. where is its location


    Thanks in advance
     
  2. White Lion

    White Lion Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    JORDAN
    Members Ride:
    statesman 2009 (white Lion)
    thanks
    problem solved through sites on Facebook
    kindly close the thread
     
  3. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,720
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    You have a deck that runs 2ohm speakers. Running 4ohm speakers will require a heavy compromise on sound quality or get a 4 channel amp set up.
     
  4. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,720
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    I have these very speakers in my VZ and love them.
     
  5. Trevor loves holden.

    Trevor loves holden. Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,492
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    Did you run a 4channel amp? What I understand between 2ohms and 4ohms is about 3db less in the 4ohm but you have to increase the volume by 40% to get the same result as a 2ohm speaker that is set 30% lower than a 4ohm speaker.
    Problem with 2ohm is the sound quality stuffed if I know why they went to 2ohms I don't think its going to make your car more energy efficient.
     
  6. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,720
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    What the fk are you on about? Are you on drugs?
     
    lmoengnr likes this.
  7. Trevor loves holden.

    Trevor loves holden. Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,492
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    Sorry my meds didn't kick in, if you replace the 2ohm speaker with a 4ohm speaker on a 2ohm amplifier that will make the 4ohm speakers about 3db quieter than the original 2ohm speakers, therefore you wont be able to get the same amount of power out of them without a amp.

    But I don't know if they put the 2ohm woofer and twitter in serries so that could be the reason for been 2ohms each making it 4ohm in total meaning the output of the original unit is 4ohms, in that case it will make no different long as you disconnect the original twitter and disguard those wires and run the new speakers off one line from the door including the splits. Hope that makes since, it does for me.
     
  8. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,720
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Yeah, but I said I have these in my VZ. 4ohm speakers bro.
     

Share This Page