Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Kayhan Mylink Replacement Hands on(info)

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by stooge, Aug 16, 2019.

  1. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    345
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    EDIT: kayhan are useless at aftersales support and will probably never respond to your emails for help so keep this in mind before purchasing.

    I got a unit to play with so I will post the info here so others can read before buying one.

    some specs on the unit:
    CPU: Spreadtrum SC9853I x64 1.8GHZ 8 Core (Intel Airmont)
    GPU: Mali T820-MP2
    RAM: SpecTek 4GB DDR4L (PS082-062 BT)
    Storage: Samsung 32GB eMMC (KLMBG2JETD-B041)
    Screen: 1024x600
    OS: Android 8.1.0
    IO: 3x USB Ports

    First impressions:

    the unit was well packed and is better quality than most aftermarket units I have had in the past.
    no tracking number was provided on purchase and not provided when I asked for one on facebook.
    there are no install instructions in the box but they have a video here

    they have included a plug which will retain the usb port in the center console and the factory reverse cam is also supported so you don't need to buy an extra reverse cam from them.
    the vehicles radio antenna is retained but the gps ant is not and you have to use the cheap one supplied.
    you also have to use the aftermarket handsfree mic but I will test and see if I can splice in the factory mic and post the results if I can it to work.

    one of my main concerns was the cold boot time when you got into the car and started it and went to reverse.
    on many android units the reverse camera would not work for about 45 seconds which would be annoying but the kayhan unit is about as quick as the mylink to boot, maybe even quicker so I am very happy with that.

    the aircon display and reverse sensors all work with visual aids on screen for what sensor is detecting front and back.
    the reverse cam has guide lines and they move depending on the steering wheel direction.
    I don't have a hud or heated seats so I cant help with that but I did see a firmware update for the heated seats.

    using the unit is pretty good and does not lag at all but I will need more time to fully test it but so far it handles video very well and even worked well with playing back a 4k video.
    music from usb is fast and does not screw around indexing etc.
    the navigation is igo which is good because it is easy to update and you can connect the unit to the google play store via wifi and install any navigation app you like or other apps.

    I will test more crap tomorrow and post back some more info here but so far I am pretty impressed with it and it even has a screen protector installed on it.


    The cons:

    1: the nav crashes a lot.
    2: there is a massive glare issue on the screen so during a sunny day it will be hard to see and the reverse cam will be hard to see and by hard I mean almost impossible.
    3: the handsfree is horrible and has no background noise cancelation so when you are doing 100kmh you will be hard to hear to the person calling you.
    4: the phone Bluetooth system is poor and annoying to operate, if you have a lot of contacts its a pain to make a call while driving.
    5: almost every time you get into the vehicle and start it the unit will display that a door is still open but the door is not open and you have to tap the screen to get rid of the picture of the door open that covers the screen.
    6: after you change a aircon setting the aircon menu may flash up again once or twice and if you use it at the wrong time like when reversing it will get stuck on screen until you change the ac settings again.
    7: when you reverse it cuts all audio output to the speakers.
    8: you have no admin access over the unit and it is not verified or is rooted so you wont be installing Netflix etc from google play and kayhan has removed the ability to access root on the firmware updates or they removed the root.
    9: some of the wiring is poor and can break easy.
    10: the supplied wifi antenna is junk and the wifi drops out a lot.
    11: it does not always remember what it was playing/doing the last time you stopped the vehicle.
    12: minor issue here but the outside temp displayed on the unit does not work/update properly and on a 28deg day mine was showing 13deg.


    here is a comparison of the kayhan unit to the mylink in the similar lighting conditions.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2019
    kirkc, ZeroLachie, chrisp and 6 others like this.
  2. NigelinNZ

    NigelinNZ New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Location:
    Wellington New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    MY17 VF2 Redline
    This is great info, thanks so much for posting. I’m really hoping this unit works well for you.
    I was nervous about the start up speed as well, given our first action is reversing out of a garage.

    Our other two primary interests are:
    1. Google maps navigation, ease of use.
    2. Spotify via USB (iPhone in our case)

    Cheers
     
  3. RED LION

    RED LION Active Member

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    VFII Redline
    Thanks for the update. I get the impression there's a few on here that are close to pulling the trigger on one of these but just need a little push. Myself included. Disappointing about the mic though. I don't really want an ugly aftermarket mic behind my steering wheel.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2019
  4. Mavericks Choice

    Mavericks Choice Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF S2 M6, VE Calais V 6L S/Wagon, VZ 6L M6 Crewie
    @stooge, thanks that sounds good, as you mention the mic or the ant are big deals. Be interested in HUD integration though.
     
  5. kleanphil

    kleanphil Active Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Location:
    G.C.
    Members Ride:
    VF SS-V SII Sportwagon
    The after market mics aren't a worry , I put mine in the roof light in the spare spot on the opposite side of the factory mic
     
  6. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    Does it have a sim slot so it can have its own mobile data connection?

    Can't wait stooge thanks for pulling the trigger
     
  7. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    345
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    I didn't get much time today to mess with it but I was thinking about the factory gps ant and you will be able to use the factory gps ant by using this cable
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/15CM-Fa...able-GPS-Antenna-Extension-New-M/133105137875
    I will make this cable and test if it works but I am pretty sure it will because the aftermarket antenna is the same type as the factory one it is just using a smc plug.

    I don't have an iPhone so I cant test anything iPhone related.
    I did not notice any sim slot on the unit but I will look when I install it properly, it does have wifi and I was using my phone as a hotspot

    a couple of things that I noticed that are bad are the screen is not bright enough during the day and there is a lot of glare/reflection on the screen so a anti glare screen protector might be needed.
    I am going to email kayhan and ask if there is something that can be done about the screen brightness.
    another thing I noticed was if you leave the radio on and stop and lock the vehicle when you come back and start it up the radio does not reload the unit just loads to the home screen which is a bit piss poor because it should save its state but that could be corrected with a software update.

    the factory amp in the boot wont work after you install it too so I will look at finding the pins to make it work or just running new cables down the back for the amp as I replaced my factory one with an aftermarket one a while ago.

    with anyluck the wife will leave me alone tomorrow and I will get some time to put it through its paces
     
    Mavericks Choice and [paradox] like this.
  8. kleanphil

    kleanphil Active Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Location:
    G.C.
    Members Ride:
    VF SS-V SII Sportwagon
    The couple of things I'm interested are how well the wireless android works , not sure if you got that option , and as far as apps other than music/video apps I can think would be helpful would be the BOM weather radar , being a bricky its handy to see what the weather is doing when you might have an hour to get to work only to be rained off , but I can see that if the only way to get a internet connection is to hotspot your phone then maybe some web apps might have trouble working correctly ? I'm not really familiar with hot spotting and what might work on your phone if sharing the net
     
  9. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    Kayhan did tell me it doesn't have it's own sim but they seem fairly useless in customer support so not sure. Annoying because the VE units do.

    Same with hud and heated seats, they only have an evoke so they didnt test any other features before release, they need the sales to get to these.

    I saw they have a popup stall at doncaster for 3 weeks.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2019
  10. hsvluva

    hsvluva Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VF V8 Calais
    Cheers for this stooge. I am hanging off buying one to learn more about them. I want the DAB+ and option of choosing my own GPS software as well as wireless CARPLAY. I have a VF Calais, so the inability to use the amp concerns me, I am happy I can get a conversion cable for the GPS Antenna. The light issues looks bad so hopefully there is a answer for that and the Radio not coming back on after leaving the car. That's pretty poor programming. I am tossing up between this and the Alpine Halo model some people have fitted.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2019
  11. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    345
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    the google play issue is resolved HERE.
    keep in mind you still do not have admin access over the unit and cannot access developer mode.
    you will lose root access after installing the google play store fix too.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
    chrisp and abuch47 like this.
  12. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Thanks for the warning.
     
    kirkc likes this.
  13. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Interesting, tried any of the common passwords Kayhan has used for the other units?
     
  14. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Why don't they supply passwords for an item you spent good money on and now own?
     
    kirkc and abuch47 like this.
  15. Forg

    Forg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
    The usual reason given is "we don't sell you only the unit, but also the settings in that unit which makes it work properly; and it took us time & money to develop those settings & hence if you want them changed we will charge you extra for that extra time".
    Which makes more sense with an aftermarket ECU tune than a head-unit … I don't know if there are even settings they need to maker that the manufacturer didn't?
     
    lmoengnr likes this.
  16. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Just another good reason not to buy it...
     
    kirkc likes this.
  17. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Might be more to protect the unit from being corrupted or tampering with things that should be.

    Its the old "Dont press that big red button".... and what does the curious cat do... presses it. Settings could include screen resolutions, firmware wiping, thermal throttle disable ect.. various things the average joe shouldnt tampering with or see really.

    I would imagine either a software update or something else will come out soon to resolve the issue.

    Id want full access myself, although do understand their perspective if the above is how they perceive it.
     
  18. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    IF you cant remove your google account then you cant sell the car without issues.
     
    kirkc likes this.
  19. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    345
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    I am not sure what they are but 123456 gets you into the extra settings under the vehicle settings option.
    if you know any I can try post them and I will test them out.

    more on the unit...

    another problem I have found is parts of the system don't seem to get network access like settings deep into the google account while the browsers and other apps have network access.
    I have not yet tried to sideload an app but if the system is locked down keeping you as a user that option might not be available and if you cant access the google play store you cant update the maps or install your preferred navi application.
    you can change the default nav app but if you cant install anything that is pointless.

    the play store worked for a short time until it updated and that's where the problem is and uninstalling that update does not fix it.
    the nav app(igo) is clunky and froze up many times today while on my way to work.

    the radio did start to resume after vehicle restart today but the home screen was still displayed so that was a bit of a win.

    I ended up making this cable...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    which is the same as this cable and it works perfectly to retain the factory gps antenna.

    you cant retain the factory mic as the kahan unit uses a different type of mic which is a preamp type and the vf uses the old traditional 2 wire mic but you can pop the plastic shell off the aftermarket mic and install it into the spot the factory mic is located because you can remove the factory mic as it is just clipped in.

    this is one of the biggest problems...
    [​IMG]
    the screen is almost impossible to see it during the day because of a few things.
    1: a "dark mode" theme that has a black background, a white(bright) theme is needed for day time.
    2: really bad glare/reflection on the screen so some sort of antiglare film is needed.
    3: not enough brightness in the backlight of the screen.
    this is bad because a lot of the time you cant see the reverse cam properly.

    my dab+ module I ordered with it does not pickup any channels so I need to double check it I think.

    I am not ready just yet to give up on it and I am still waiting for them to respond to my request for the passwords or a solution to the unit not letting me have admin access.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
  20. dah_man_ben

    dah_man_ben Member

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Tesla Model 3 Performance, Mazda 6
    I am sure that an early video that I watched of this on Facebook or Youtube from Kayhan (when they were still testing it), the guy specifically said that the test unit very reflective but the final units won't be and will have an anti-glare screen on them. So dunno what happened to that idea?
     

Share This Page