Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

L67 auto question

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by supercharged-ride, Jan 27, 2016.

  1. supercharged-ride

    supercharged-ride New Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6 Alloytec190
    Hello all, just a quick question can a standard ecotec auto be placed behind a L67?
    I have read the converter is larger, is the splin the same? as in will the L67 converter fit a ecotec splin.

    I want to have a go at rebuilding a auto (with a lot more research) I have a ecotec auto to play with but if it wont fit, I wont try.
    So does anyone know the differences or if this will work?
     
  2. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    I'd put an ecotec box behind one for sure. An ecotec torque converter won't bolt up to the l67 flex plate, so you'll need to use the existing converter
     
  3. supercharged-ride

    supercharged-ride New Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6 Alloytec190
    So the converter is the only difference? the front splin that goes into the converter isn't a different size or different number of teeth on it?
     
  4. chargedvx6

    chargedvx6 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VY SII HBD Calais L67
    Ecotec auto will bolt up to L67 stall and flex plate no worries. They're all interchangeable. Flex plate bolt position of L67 and ecojet is the same. Autos are the same as well
     
  5. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    Except the 3 bolt holes for the converter afaik :p
     
  6. supercharged-ride

    supercharged-ride New Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6 Alloytec190
    Beautiful I'll rebuild the ecotec auto and use my existing converter/stall and flex plate.
    Thank you both very much for the info
     
  7. supercharged-ride

    supercharged-ride New Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6 Alloytec190
    All good i'll use existing converter so the only change will be the auto itself
     
  8. chargedvx6

    chargedvx6 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VY SII HBD Calais L67
    Nah all the same mate. Done many many swaps so I've no doubt ;)
     
  9. supercharged-ride

    supercharged-ride New Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6 Alloytec190
    Thanks for that.
     

Share This Page