Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

LCD control unit dead - no aircond/radio etc. on WM Statesman - HELP!

chrisk.tcb

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Perth
Members Ride
WM Statesman V6
Hi guys,

Hope someone can help as my car is no longer under warranty (due to klms) - is a 2007 WM V6 Statesman and amongst a heap of things that have gone wrong with it the latest was intermittent but now is permanent.

The centre screen that controls everything has shutdown - I'd taken it to Holden and they recommend a replacement unit @ $1500!

My guess is that it is linked to the Alternator as an error has come on for that a few times.

Any info would be great. Thanks.
 

TumTum

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
127
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Northern Victoria
Members Ride
MY9.5 VE SV6 Ute, 2001 VXII Berlina Sed
Hi,

First step I would try if this was a short wheelbase VE,would be to gently but firmly full the fascia off the stereo itself. Then, I'd put it back in - this would ensure all the contacts between the fascia and the headunit were making positive contact. Then, if that didn't work, I'd access the right hand side of the unit and unlock and remove the plug assembly on the right side of the headunit and re-seat that for the same reason as the fascia removal.

Now, as you have a WM and not a VE, the interior plastics make accessing the fascia more difficult - I have no idea how the fascia is attached as it appears to be in two sections (HVAC and screen/stereo controls). I'm guessing it's one piece with just an indent to allow the front plastics to go across. If you're able to, have a poke around and see if you can get the console plastics out of the way to re-seat the fascia.

If you're still stuck with a no-go unit, a little more info might help us have a go at working out what's happened. You said it was intermittent - so are you saying the screen would sometimes go off and then come back on? Now it's 'dead', do you still get the red light flashing on the top LH side (security deterrent)? If you turn on the lights, do any of the buttons get backlighting? Just wondering because these two things would indicate whether there is any power/data going to the headunit/fascia.

Post back once you've had a go at the above/with more info and we'll see what we can do to save you $1,500 ;)
 

chrisk.tcb

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Perth
Members Ride
WM Statesman V6
Hi and thanks for your reply I'd totally forgot I'd posted this until I started searching again for answers as its still a problem!!! Holden have done what you suggested but they're adamant the fascia needs to be replaced.
 

KaT

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
WA
Members Ride
WM Statesman 2006
Hi , I too have the same problem same make and model 2006. As well as I had issues with the Alternator which I had replaced prior to the issue with the center fascia control unit as Holden like to refer to it by at about a year so Im wondering if that could have effected the unit?
I too would like to know if you got yours working in the end as well?
cheers KaT
 

KaT

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
WA
Members Ride
WM Statesman 2006
Mine turned out to be a dry solder issue and is fixed, thanks to the perseverance of Lance Auto Electrics Cannington, who got it out and gave it over to a specialist tech. I was a week with out it but it was better than the now replacement cost of $2800 plus $280 for programming and install.
 

Kelkie

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
36
Location
Perth
Members Ride
2006 V6 WM Statesman
Hi,

First step I would try if this was a short wheelbase VE,would be to gently but firmly full the fascia off the stereo itself. Then, I'd put it back in - this would ensure all the contacts between the fascia and the headunit were making positive contact. Then, if that didn't work, I'd access the right hand side of the unit and unlock and remove the plug assembly on the right side of the headunit and re-seat that for the same reason as the fascia removal.

Now, as you have a WM and not a VE, the interior plastics make accessing the fascia more difficult - I have no idea how the fascia is attached as it appears to be in two sections (HVAC and screen/stereo controls). I'm guessing it's one piece with just an indent to allow the front plastics to go across. If you're able to, have a poke around and see if you can get the console plastics out of the way to re-seat the fascia.

If you're still stuck with a no-go unit, a little more info might help us have a go at working out what's happened. You said it was intermittent - so are you saying the screen would sometimes go off and then come back on? Now it's 'dead', do you still get the red light flashing on the top LH side (security deterrent)? If you turn on the lights, do any of the buttons get backlighting? Just wondering because these two things would indicate whether there is any power/data going to the headunit/fascia.

Post back once you've had a go at the above/with more info and we'll see what we can do to save you $1,500 ;)

Hi I’m having the exact same problem with mine a 2006. I do have the red security light flashing but the control buttons have no lighting at all. I can play music through my steering controls though.
 
Top