Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

LED number plate lights giving warning...

Discussion in 'VY Holden Commodore (2002 - 2004)' started by vongy10, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. vongy10

    vongy10 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Gunnedah
    Members Ride:
    CV8 Monaro V2
    Hi all,

    Decided to upgrade some lights on the car, threw LED bulbs in the number plate area and that sets off the warning in the dash that's annoying af. I might want to upgrade the bulbs for the tail lights too but no way if I get that warning everytime I start the car. Is there a simple fix or does it require soldering a resistor?
     
  2. HSVBMW

    HSVBMW Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Location:
    South Australia
    Members Ride:
    vh vn vt
    You need 'canbus' leds,standard globes are 5 watts,led 3 watts. If car senses anything below 5w it thinks its blown. Canbus just means it has a circuit that boost the current draw to 5 watts thus stopping warning. You may find they flicker at start up,its just the computer checking the bulb circuit. Its not visible with standard globes as they are slower to respond than leds.....so not an issue...car doing its test.
     
    vongy10 likes this.
  3. vongy10

    vongy10 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Gunnedah
    Members Ride:
    CV8 Monaro V2
    Thanks for that. I find it kinda odd that the warning came up for the number plate bulbs when I swapped them but it didn't tell me that one of my front parker's was out...
     
  4. Voodoo_SV6

    Voodoo_SV6 Active Member

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 E3 R8 Manual+MY16 VFII SV6+MY11 VE S2 SV6
    I had the same. Front parkers are all good, but the number plate leds set off the warning. I just changed them back to standard
     
  5. HSVBMW

    HSVBMW Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Location:
    South Australia
    Members Ride:
    vh vn vt
    If you have changed your parkers to led and they ARE canbus leds they will never show bulb failure.
    The canbus circuit continues doing its job even when the bulbs blown.
     
  6. vongy10

    vongy10 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Gunnedah
    Members Ride:
    CV8 Monaro V2
    Got some canbus bulbs, threw them in, they light up but I still get the warning which sucks.
     
  7. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    I doubt it's a wattage issue that causes it (for Commodores atleast), it's the lack resistance on the circuit you get from LED globes as they left the factory with incandescent globes that give more resistance. It's happened with brake lights and cruise control, so if you throw them in the tail lights your cruise control likely won't work (this seems to be by design as it's on almost(?) every model Commodore with cruise control). Throw LEDs in the indicators and they will probably blink as if there's a blown bulb. I'm unsure of what kind of resistance needs to be on the circuit as I've never done it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2018
  8. vongy10

    vongy10 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Gunnedah
    Members Ride:
    CV8 Monaro V2
    Seems like disconnecting the battery for a bit did the trick.
     

Share This Page