Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Looking for a device to allow me to play CDs through my VF2 Calais

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by Herman Nieuwenburg, Aug 2, 2019.

  1. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Hi All,

    I have recently bought a 2017 VF2 Calais which doesn't have a CD player. I know that I can play mp3s via usb into my car (which I have set up) as well as spotify, but I have a collection of over 4000 CDs that I like to play in the car. MyLink will only allow you to connect to it via Bluetooth so I purchased a bluetooth enabled portable CD player but I can't pair it because you MyLink gives you a code to enter into the device. The device doesn't have the capacity to enter a code.

    Has anyone that has a VF2 found a way to connect a CD player to it and if so what device/s did you buy to make this work?

    I'm specifically asking VF2 owners who have solved this problem because I have seen a number of comments in threads with useless responses like "are you sure you just can't find the CD slot" or "why don't you convert your CDs to mp3". None of these statements will solve what I want to do. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Regards

    Herman
     
  2. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Computer shops sell (or use to sell) usb cd dvd burners players.
    Dont know if it would work on the vf system?
     
  3. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    If you have a Windows PC, rip your CD's as a WMA lossless file and play via a USB stick.
     
    Lex likes this.
  4. chrisp

    chrisp Active Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF2 MY16 SS Redline Sportwagon
    It’s probably not what you want to hear, but I simply uploaded my CDs to iTunes then copied my music directory to a USB memory stick. I can select the album I want without any trouble at all and it plays just like it was the actual CD (and often including a picture of the CD cover on the MyLink screen).
     
  5. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Thanks Lex. Looked into that. Mylink will only connect via bluetooth not cable.
     
  6. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Thanks but want to continue playing my cds. I have an android phone and as mentioned I already put a heap of mp3s onto usb. Whilst that works I want to simply play my collection of cds.
     
  7. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Yep. Know all that. I simply want to play my 4000 plus cds.
     
  8. kleanphil

    kleanphil Active Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Location:
    G.C.
    Members Ride:
    VF SS-V SII Sportwagon
    Hi the kayhan system does allow you to take the cd player from a series 1 and add it to the kayhan series 2 kit . If your happy to do away with mylink you could put a Kenwood system or some other brand in that has a cd player , , it would be interesting to know if you could just make the series 1 cd player work in the series 2
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
    Fu Manchu likes this.
  9. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Yeah thanks. Checked with Holden and series 1 and 2 are definately not interchangeable. The only aftermarket device that fits the series 2 and it costs $5000 Plus installation with no guarentee of loss of functionality. I've been to 3 major car audio installers and all say there is no solution. Thats why I'm after a portable device that will bluetooth connect to the Mylink. Just wondering if someone has a vf2 and solved this problem.
     
  10. kleanphil

    kleanphil Active Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Location:
    G.C.
    Members Ride:
    VF SS-V SII Sportwagon
    you can get this https://kayhanaudio.com.au/product/satnav-for-holden-commodore-vf/ for well under $5000 and supposably is fully compatable
    or this https://www.kenwood.com/au/car/visual_navigation/ddx9019dabs/ with a loss of minimal feature for about same cost
    EDIT : the first one you can use the series 1 cd player and all looks factory
     
  11. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
  12. kleanphil

    kleanphil Active Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Location:
    G.C.
    Members Ride:
    VF SS-V SII Sportwagon
    My understanding is the series 2 head unit has all the same functions as the series 1 but some have been turned off , so I would say that it is possible to put the series 1 cd player in series 2 , but I really don't know . 2 people with a clue would be @stooge or @TazzI , this would be the most ideal solution
     
  13. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Hi. I did check these options with both Holden and car radio places and they apparently will only work with the vf series 1 and not series 2.
     
  14. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    That’s some inaccurate info you’ve been given. There are upgrade kits available for s1 & 2.

    You could use a deck that allows an aux input and set up an old school stacker in the boot mounted up on the parcel shelf.

    All you need is an aux input, even if the current head unit has that for things like rear seat entertainment or similar.
     
  15. kleanphil

    kleanphil Active Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Location:
    G.C.
    Members Ride:
    VF SS-V SII Sportwagon
    They don't know what they talking about , you can definitely put any after market audio system in your vf2 as it all comes down to the Aerpro facia kit but you will lose some functions , I notice you have a Calais so you will lose heated seats if you go that route . the Kayhan will definitly go in
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2019
  16. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    I've been to Northfield and Auto One as well as Holden. Can you please recommend a place where they can do what you suggest?
     
  17. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    The instructions provided in the user manual also say that the only devices that connect to a vf2 Mylink is by bluetooth. They specifically say you can't connect a drive via usb. Only a usb stick.
     
  18. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Upgrade to android auto and carplay. You are going to have to upload your CD collection to iTunes (or the android/pc version) and play via that.

    If there is no aux input, then that is the only way.
     
  19. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Just like to clarify that I did put a request into Holden technical area and they sent me an email response that a series one Mylink is not compatible with series 2 vf. Mylink will not connect in any way other than bluetooth. Car stereo places have told me there is no aftermarket solution for me. What I really would like is for someone who actually owns a vf2 that has found a way to play cds in there car. The only thing I can think of is a bluetooth portable cd player that can be paired to the mylink by allowing a code to be entered. Any actually done this?
     
  20. Herman Nieuwenburg

    Herman Nieuwenburg New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais
    Thanks already do that but that's not what I'm asking.
     

Share This Page