Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Losing Coolant???

bigolredbeard

Reaction score
Members Ride
1997 VT SS
Hey guys just wondering if anyone is able to help me out. Im new to the 5L owners club and still working things out.

I recently purchased my dream car: a 1997 VT SS Commodore. As with all second hand cars i buy I've done an oil change, replaced and tightened all the belts, and im in the process of getting everything together to do a coolant flush and change the transmission fluid.

Ive recently noticed that im going through a lot of coolant (about 1L p/week) but its not leaking out anywhere that i can see clearly like on the ground after i park it up. Also in the last week or so the check engine light comes on and stays on for about 30 seconds when i start the car but goes away and doesn't come on again whilst I'm driving... hmmm confused...

Anyway, any help you guys can provide would be much appreciated. Cheers

Oh and btw whatever anyone does DO NOT buy a a Holden Viva. I got one for my missus one and it lasted 143kms. Thats not 143000 kms but 143. Flat. Replacing the motor in that this weekend lol

gossie

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE International 3.6L
Suggest call into a radiator place for a pressure test, might find a leak.

wrx884

WA's ASR Rep
Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Exec/ VT L67 Spac, 5L VP Calais, 77 TC Gemini
Does ur front window fog up when using the heater on the demisters at all? do the carpets seem dry in the front footwells?

BlackVXGTS

Reaction score
Members Ride
GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4