Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Lost all my options!!!

Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
42
Location
NSW
Members Ride
VZ SV8
So VZ SV8 battery died and now I have lost all the good options in the menu??
Used to have multi stage unlock, headlight, horn bips, interior illumination etc... options but after the battery died now all I have is trip, rest, over speed and the other base options.
I have disconnected and left the battery out overnight but still nothing.

Any ideas???
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,862
Reaction score
5,209
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
When you reconnected the battery, did you short it on anything?
Did you connect negative last or positive?

Try holding menu and set down, then turn the ignition to on (don't start the car) while still holding the two buttons. Cycle the stuff through and see if theres anything interesting.

Also try holding mode while turning the ignition to on (don't start it). see if that gets into setting things up again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
42
Location
NSW
Members Ride
VZ SV8
Fu Manchu I’ve tried it all! And always negative off first, on last!

I’m thinking BCM issues, do VZ’s still have a BCM?
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,862
Reaction score
5,209
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
They do. Expensive to change just BCM with new one. Cheaper to take a chance and buy a computer set and key.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
42
Location
NSW
Members Ride
VZ SV8
Hhmm yes, that’s what I was thinking.
Would it matter if I bought a high level BCM and married it to my mid level car?
Does the BCM know what car it’s in?

Wait just realised what you meant!

So I’ll have to get the ECU, PCM and BCM with keys?

Is this not something that can be “fixed” in tuning?
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
7,862
Reaction score
5,209
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
You will need the same BCM. On the side there is a code on a sticker. Get one the same number and to suit the same car. Eg sedan, wagon, ute etc.

You can’t just get the bcm either.

Unless you are a computing genius, with knowledge on the Holden Canbus system, you will be screwed.

No you can’t use a high level bcm. Yes it will know the car is different.
 
Top