Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

LS1 turbo problem

rubaduckee

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
109
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vp
Hi guys, I have a bit of an issue with my LS1 at the moment.

we put a turbo on it (TO4Z) and use the intank pump to feed an 044 Bosch Pump through a 2litre surge tank, with 60lb injectors, it is also intercooled.

problem is that it has a miss in it under load, and apparently drops back to 7cyl (intermitantly and not on the same cyl ?) and leans out, we have changed spark leads, checked plugs, they are gapped at .6mm, and have changed the coils over, and tried a different computer - still misses.

it has all been checked on the dyno of a reputable shop.

has anyone else had this or have any idea what is causing it, we are running out of ideas????

thanks in advance
 

SirNemesis

Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
462
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Geelong, VIC
Members Ride
WHII Statesman
Not much detail there to troubleshoot from... so I'm going to do some guessing.

Does it miss under full throttle or any load?
Can you confirm you are using a 2Bar MAP sensor?
Are you still using a MAF?
Are you still using closed loop fueling?
What plugs are you using?
Is your fuel system deadhead or return?
Is your fuel pressure regulator boost referenced?
 

rubaduckee

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
109
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vp
thanks for the reply, I will try and answer your questions:

happens under any load
yes it has a 2 bar
no maf
not sure what you mean by closed loop fueling
ngk r spark plugs bpr6efs - I think they are
sorry not sure what you mean by dead head or return
yes it is running a malory ruel regulator

thanks again
 

soop

Banned
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
3,847
Reaction score
58
Points
0
Location
Smithton, Tasmania.
Members Ride
2003 SS Commodore Series II
He means does the fuel system run a line back to the tank, or does it finish at the rail?
 

SirNemesis

Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
462
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Geelong, VIC
Members Ride
WHII Statesman

rubaduckee

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
109
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vp
what difference does it make if the line goes back to the tank?
 

rubaduckee

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
109
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vp
no i dont believe it does go back to the tank
 

soop

Banned
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
3,847
Reaction score
58
Points
0
Location
Smithton, Tasmania.
Members Ride
2003 SS Commodore Series II
Righto :p.
Nemisis has his reasons for asking. Does it have the standard fuel rail in place?
 
Top