Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Massive overfuelling wont even idle

Discussion in 'VL Holden Commodore (1986 - 1988)' started by ucwepn, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    Yeah its farked so will be going into the workshop to check the ECU or coolant temp sensor, hopefully wont cost too much. It seems that there is sooo much pressure in the fuel system that it caused the hose after the high pressure pump to spring a leak and the car wont idle and is blowing huge clouds of black smoke. will let ya's know what it is on wednesday.
     
  2. mag

    mag Member

    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    South OZ Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
    Check the plug on the amf, sounds just like what happened to my brother when he owned a VL:thumbsup:
     
  3. rb26dett

    rb26dett New Member

    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VT SS S2 A4
    If the return line is blocked it will set the fuel pressure sky high
     
  4. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    AFM is working fine, pull the plug out and it runs worse. It could very well be the blocked return line thing, these are things I will get them to check. There is so much fuel going in that the motor can't even burn it.
     
  5. mag

    mag Member

    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    South OZ Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
    It was worth a try:thumbsup:
     
  6. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    Certainly was Mag cheers for the advice bro :)

    sucks being a pedestrian.
     
  7. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    Ok heres the story,

    went to mechanics yesterday and got a reco ecu, car ran fine for 10km's then died again, went back today and got a new distributer and she is as good as gold.

    Nasty old CAS was the problem lol. Had the mechanics scratching their heads for a while tho LOL
     
  8. mag

    mag Member

    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    South OZ Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VL 86 RB30 Executive Auto
    It just doesn't help that the CAS dies sooo slowwwly and the ECU won't bring up a error code until it's nearly completley dead..:bang:
     
  9. kezza_4246

    kezza_4246 Holden Drifter

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VR CALAIS 3.8i V6
    hey ucwepn how much did the nasty piece of $#@ cas set u back i have exactly same problem and only worked it out when the computer brought up the error code
     
  10. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    Well the mechanic I went to is next door to a wreckers so I got a new 2nd hand distributer for $100 fitted. They didn't charge me labour because I spent sooo much the day before on a reco ecu and the ecu was fine.

    If you can't do it yourself find someone who knows all about vl's to do it for ya. don't go to a big name mechanic because it will just cost $$$$ and they couldn't tell their ass from their elbow IMO..

    Oh and car is fine now, I have done around 230 km's in 2 days and all is well.
     
  11. VL Berlina 5speed

    VL Berlina 5speed Apprentice Panel Pusher

    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Project VL Show car, VS Exec, VY Ute, YZ250F
    yah i was having a problem with my CAS, so i bought a second hand dissy for 88bucks and it has a 3 month warrenty, so any probs they will swap it over with a new 1 :D
     
  12. kezza_4246

    kezza_4246 Holden Drifter

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VR CALAIS 3.8i V6
    cool thx guys but car wont even start now is it still the cas? lmao
     
  13. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    well an engine needs 3 things to work, Fuel, spark and compression. Check things like fuel supply or distributer. Even the AFM can prevent it from starting.
     
  14. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    My car is still playing up, am going to get in touch with JPC or another similar shop that knows VL's
     
  15. kezza_4246

    kezza_4246 Holden Drifter

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VR CALAIS 3.8i V6
    well its got no fuel well maybe a litre lmao it definatly has spark and compression i dunno and whats the afm? lol
     
  16. VL Berlina 5speed

    VL Berlina 5speed Apprentice Panel Pusher

    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Project VL Show car, VS Exec, VY Ute, YZ250F
    Air Flow Meter, the black sensor thing behind the air box with the cable going to it
     
  17. kezza_4246

    kezza_4246 Holden Drifter

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VR CALAIS 3.8i V6
    yep airflow is new now its bringing up 3 of the 4 previous codes 23 24 and 31 one of em is speed sensor one idle position switch or whatever it is the other is cas so airflow meter was a prob lol now i need the cas and fuel and maybe my car will start thx heaps guys u been great help
     

Share This Page