Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

memcal question

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by hellbillybmx, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. hellbillybmx

    hellbillybmx New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Location:
    wollongong
    Members Ride:
    vs wagon
    hey im planning on putting the t5 manual hooked upto my buick in my vn into my supercharged ecotec vs wagon wat needs 2 be done wit memcals will it just work wit the memcal in the ecu for the eco or will i have 2 change it? if so will the memcal outta my vn work in the ecu for the supercharged ecotec or will i have 2 find a new memcal if so wat kind will work perfect in the new setup im doin?
     
  2. UW1SH

    UW1SH New Member

    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VR 5speed With ecotec conversion
    It should work fine.. Just make sure you bridge the inhibitor switch otherwise it wont start. Dont thing anything needs to be done to the memcal or no need to change the memcal..
     
  3. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,353
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    ............................................. deleted
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
  4. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore
    the VS is currently auto or manual? (if manual t5 or getrag?)

    If auto the memcal will need the trans fault codes disabled (if not done it'll go into lhm and run rich, lack performance and economy)
    the vss is different and will feed the wrong signal to the ecu, flywheel from the VN will be wrong and need to be rebalanced to suit the ecotec.

    If it's currently manual and has a getrag gearbox the ecu tune will be wrong for the t5 aswell. The VN memcal is not compatible with a sc ecotec either, clutch mechanism will be different also as 1 is hydraulic the other is cable driven.

    Someone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong about this next bit, from what i've read the t5 is not strong enough to put behind a sc v6, it'll break.
     
  5. SweetWagon

    SweetWagon booosted

    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Location:
    Springwood NSW
    Members Ride:
    VS Berlina Wagon Supercharged
    From my understanding, the PCM's particularily used on the s/c VS models are have all components neccessary to read a hall effect (T5) & reluctor style (Auto/Getrag) speed sensors, but it would require a couple of wiring changes at the PCM and a modified tune to work correctly. (see here Kalmaker Forums • View topic - T5 VSS)

    Also, im running a T5 behind a sc v6, it's been fine running behind it for over a year, i dont give it any easy time, engine is out atm, I plan on putting the same box back on just with a freshen up as it was from a 300k VN
     

Share This Page