Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Missfire at idle...

Sorak

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SV6
Hi all,

I am new to commodores and also to this forum, I am hoping someone can help me with this...

I've just bought a VS, and the engine occasionally faulters when idling at traffic lights, otherwise it runs well...

It has new plugs and I've just replaced the leads. When I recently got the Auto serviced they reported the following codes...

23: Air intake temp voltage high 2/255
75: System voltage high 4/255
76: Short term fuel trim delta high 6/255

Could code 23 or 76 cause this prob?
Any help would be much appreciated...

Thanks,

Paul.

HsvPlayBoy

Banned
Reaction score
Members Ride
Vr Hsv 185i
check the Harmonic Balancer if its cracking then this will cause the missfire and also check things like the Fuel map sensor & the Crank angle & oxy Sensor maybe one of these Things or even a Dirty throttle body Good Luck Man

Sorak

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SV6
Thanks for your quick reply HsvPlayBoy. I will check these when I have the time. Is there an easy way to check the Harmonic Balancer?

Could the air intake temp sensor also cause a missfire?

Thanks...

protossw

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR 3.8 EXECUTIVE
same problems with my VR,,,

hako

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6
Check that the new leads are pushed properly onto the spark plug caps - sometimes they arent on full and this can cause a miss. The harmonic balancer should not cause a miss....usually its a clunk/bang as it fails. Good luck

Sorak

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SV6
Thanks, I have checked the leads and they seem fine.

I've also cleaned the throttle body and IAC and have replaced the air intake temp sensor. Last week I started running BP ultimate to hopefully clean the injectors.