Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Mods on my vt s1 v6 6 speed auto exe. wagon

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
2,070
Reaction score
754
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
Hi
Here's some pics of my wagon.
First pic with climate controls on top, were taken when l installed a wh statesman dash.
I've done a lot of work to the old girl.
My eye sight is not that good. hard time trying to read the maps, time, gps speed, which is more accurate than the speedo (only have 5 points left on license). Most of the time l can read it now.
Just a little bit different from your standard s1 vt exe.
I'll add more photos when l take some decent photos.
Lex
 

Attachments

MEANL67

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
SE SUBURBS
Members Ride
VT L67 CALAIS
Cluster looks great.(level 3 aswell) did you get someone with a tech 2 to reprogram it. where and what Leds did you use, the needles look better than stock ones.
With the blue paint on the surrounds.i'm unsure of, unless its the colour of you VT.
Climate control unit- Does it work or is it just pluged in to light up?
if it works, can you give us a right up on it.I presume you changes the complete HVAC aswell.
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
2,070
Reaction score
754
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
Hi
Local workshop programmed the cluster, vx s1 needles are actually white.
Bought a 5 metre blue leds strip. (you can cut, every 3 leds, or have them longer.
Used blue led globes on temp, fuel. Tacho & speedo leds, took the backing of the strips and bent them into shape, sanded green backing of the fascia. Bottom cluster windows pulled out the white plastic strips (gets rid of the shadow).
Couldn't get s2 blue fascia with prnd321, so ended up with the HSV one.
To power the the leds on tach & speedo l used an old globe, by pulling out the bulb and sticking a couple pins through them. Soldered a couple of wires to leds, then hooked them into a plug (of an old computer case, power on reset etc buttons, wires that go to motherboard).
Colour of car is white.
Climate control did work (only heater at the moment). Have to get AC working in next couple of months (before it heats up).
Yes l changed the hvac unit, as well as the front loom.
I think everything l have done, has been from write ups from this site, except moving the head unit to be where the climate controls where, climate controls moved to where the head unit was. (I'll bet there is people out there saying it can't be done.) HA HA HA.
The first thing l did was fitted cruise control, then calais head unit. Next, steering wheel audio controls. Then wired in prnd321 on level 3 cluster. April 2014, power windows. Next a new head unit (one pictured) steering wheel audio controls work as well. Then berlina seats front and back + door trims, had them done in blue & grey leather. November last year was given climate control, out of that l also got the alarm system, plus passenger air bag, out of a berlina. Also put on 19 inch x 9.5 tyres 235x35x19 (eleanors) bboss wheels. This year l added side air bags, sensors, & module.
At the moment on l'm doing ABS & traction control upgrade.
End of the day its still only a Commodore exe. wagon. I'm an invalid pensioner, l get bored. Still plenty of little, or big projects to do yet.
All this work has been over 4 years.
I hate typing. Thats enough for tonight.
Lex
 
Last edited:

MEANL67

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
SE SUBURBS
Members Ride
VT L67 CALAIS
Thanks Lex.
its good work so far and keep up the good work.
Mine is a executive as well. my next one is elec windows and cruise.
 

s_ikari2015

Fun IS easier with an 8
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
672
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Australia
Members Ride
'02 Monaro V2 CV8, '83 Subaru Sherpa, '87 Sherpa
Very different indeed with the headunit reposition. Great work, can't tell the surround would have been hacked to hell ;) lol.

Where did you wire the dash clock in for power and illumination? I've been looking at putting the WH surround in also and thought the constant 12v from the hazard switch and illumination from the mode buttons would be good.
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
2,070
Reaction score
754
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
Very different indeed with the headunit reposition. Great work, can't tell the surround would have been hacked to hell ;) lol.

Where did you wire the dash clock in for power and illumination? I've been looking at putting the WH surround in also and thought the constant 12v from the hazard switch and illumination from the mode buttons would be good.
Hi
Yes, l think thats where it was wired in.
Lex
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
2,070
Reaction score
754
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
Hi
Got some more photos. Still crap quality.
Had it all finished, looking good. Realised l forgot to put the gearshift position in. So had to disassemble it again.
As per normal, cracked the paint. Not fixing it this time, as l have a new 10" head unit to put in.
Server won't let me upload the photos at the moment. File is to large. Will have to take more photos at a smaller resolution later.
Lex
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
2,070
Reaction score
754
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
Hi
Finally got around to getting some photos.
Hopefully l'll be able to upload them.
 

Attachments

Top