Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Monoblock questions

Fun_Bucket

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
2,990
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Cairns White Rock
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
Hey guy's i have a question, can i use a Monoblock amp to run a pair of 6x9's The amp itself is a Clarion APX1301 I reffered to the manual and it didnt help. I'm trying to find out more at the moment, but in the meantime, if anyone can help, that would be great:bang:
 

walesy

Aint no family cruiser!!!
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
2,254
Reaction score
17
Points
38
Age
34
Location
Perth SOR
Members Ride
Cherry Black WH II Caprice, VS exec wagon
i was under the impression monoblocks were purely for subs??
 

bezz

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
950
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VK
Technically you could, but first of all itd be mono sound, and secondly it'd be low passed at about 150Hz max. ;)
 

Fun_Bucket

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
2,990
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Cairns White Rock
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
yeah the reason i ask is because it also has a high level speaker input harness ...? and the X over goes to 300hz
 

bezz

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
950
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VK
hmm, odd. Another thing to think about, given that mono doesn't utilise ICEpower, distortion would be terrible at higher frequencies.
 

Fun_Bucket

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
2,990
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Cairns White Rock
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
Yeah i thought it was a little odd too. Sorry to bring up your fave topic Bezz the 6x9's !!
 

Fun_Bucket

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
2,990
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Cairns White Rock
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
It also say's it features Class A/B amplifiers, and has channel seperation, i thought it was a Class D mono
 

StoneX

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
29
Points
0
Age
41
Location
Hastings
Members Ride
VE Calais-V 6.0L
The specs say 20Hz-20kHz, so in theory, it should work fine, just mono sound rather than stereo. But it depends if the low pass filter is locked on...
 
Top