Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

more on this bloody gauge install, weres a good hole in the firewall?

PSYKO PHOENIX

AHHHH brain fart
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
468
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
Auckland, NZ
Members Ride
1995 VS Commodore v6 ecotec
it says, weres a good hole in the firewall, one thats easy to get to from both sides and will work well for the gauge installation?


also

im thinking of putting the oil pressure gauge here

is there anything behind this bit or can i just drill into it?dash gauge 2.jpg
 

Zuicider

Banned
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
1,740
Reaction score
18
Points
0
Location
Stonedville
Members Ride
Set of thongs
if your car is auto there should be a gromet in the firewall where the clutch cable goes, its a bit to the passenger side on the fire from your brake booster
 

PSYKO PHOENIX

AHHHH brain fart
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
468
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
Auckland, NZ
Members Ride
1995 VS Commodore v6 ecotec
yup its an auto, have you used this one?

got any pics? so i know what im lookin for, i have a tendency to **** up when i can see what im looking for

also how hard it it to rin the leads for the sender units to it??
 

Zuicider

Banned
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
1,740
Reaction score
18
Points
0
Location
Stonedville
Members Ride
Set of thongs
got no picks but its a rubber gromit with nothing on it. should not be hard just give her sum slack on the leads and cable tie it in sensative areas
 

PSYKO PHOENIX

AHHHH brain fart
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
468
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
Auckland, NZ
Members Ride
1995 VS Commodore v6 ecotec
sweet ill have a look!
 

TrikkBen

I'm Back :D
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
999
Reaction score
12
Points
18
Location
SE, Vic
Website
www.asroilpans.com
Members Ride
BNR32
drill your own holes and get a fitted gromet, i had to do that for the airbags on mine and these are a bastard to get through the firewall with anything...
 

ephect

Donating Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
5,064
Reaction score
3,897
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
heres the clutch hole that u can use

 

PSYKO PHOENIX

AHHHH brain fart
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
468
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
Auckland, NZ
Members Ride
1995 VS Commodore v6 ecotec
thanks heaps bro! now i know what im lookin for!

just to make sure iv got it rightUntitled.jpg
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
16,709
Reaction score
5,405
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
na bro, you want to use the grommet that has the red (amp power?) cable going through it in the fore mentioned picture
 

ephect

Donating Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
5,064
Reaction score
3,897
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
where the thick red cable is goin next to the brake booster thats my audio cable
 
Top