Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Mounting a mobile phone holder in a vz exec

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by Jock, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. Jock

    Jock New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Hi All,
    I want to mount my mobile phone in my vz exec. I have seen a few catalogues showing 2 brackets in particular from aeropro. One fits somewhere near the radio and I am not to sure where the other ne goes. I really do not want something that sticks on or leaves visible holes. I am sure someone has something already fitted. Any advice or even pictures would be greatfully received.
    Cheers
    Jock
     
  2. PaulSV6

    PaulSV6 CHE Tuned 156.8rwkw

    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Castle Hill
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6 M6, MY10 VE SV6 Sportswagon & MY03 XC SRI
    I can get pics of my Dad's mobile phone setup in his VZ Exec wagon, wont be till later on this arvo though.
    Its a Nokia setup.
     
  3. Benboy

    Benboy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hill River, SA
    Members Ride:
    2007 SVZ Wagon
    Holden produce a fixing that attaches to the centre console. No holes and very stable. About $30
     
  4. coasty

    coasty the voices told me to

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    kanwal nsw
    Members Ride:
    vz equipe & vt berlina both v6
    got one in our vt, just hooks on the side of the console. screws tight with a hook on the bottom.
     
  5. naf33n

    naf33n go

    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    The Shire
    Members Ride:
    Supercharged VU SS
    the one i had for my nokia, attached to the side of the cd player(the metal case) so when the cd player i reinstalled the bracket come out inbetween the dash and cd player,

    looks neat and no holes in your dash when you remove it


    just had a look, still have it if anyones wants it $10 with nokia phone holder
     
  6. Lumps of cheese

    Lumps of cheese welcome to the machine

    Messages:
    2,770
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Warrnambool
    Members Ride:
    83 vh sle, 4x4 hilux, 03 monaro, 07 nightrain
    I got the one that attached to the side of the console. Best one imo.
     
  7. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    Nath, done buddy - PM sent :thumbsup:
     
  8. naf33n

    naf33n go

    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    The Shire
    Members Ride:
    Supercharged VU SS
    no worries- pm replyed
     
  9. Jock

    Jock New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    The bracket that goes in near the radio sounds exactly what I am after. What brand or part number was it?
    Thanks for the replies
     
  10. tom_kauf

    tom_kauf New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon
    I'm also looking for some brackets for my VZ. But I need to mount 3 devices: Phone, Blackberry, GPS (not my idea, it's because of work). I have all the cradles, I just need to mount them.

    Does anyone have any pictures, or know if either of these fit?
    If the Brackets only go in 1 location, I need to put one either side of the console (and a 3rd one somewhere else). Ideally, I need 2 different types.

    Can anyone confirm if the one in the 2nd picture fits?
    Some sites only list it as a VY bracket, but 2 sites I've found say it's VZ/VY.

    Aeropro has this one:
    [​IMG]

    I see this one most often (but often only for VY):
    [​IMG]
     
  11. PaulSV6

    PaulSV6 CHE Tuned 156.8rwkw

    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Castle Hill
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6 M6, MY10 VE SV6 Sportswagon & MY03 XC SRI
    Here some pics of my dads car phone setup , going by the two brackets u posted above its the second bracket

    Paul
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Lumps of cheese

    Lumps of cheese welcome to the machine

    Messages:
    2,770
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Warrnambool
    Members Ride:
    83 vh sle, 4x4 hilux, 03 monaro, 07 nightrain
    Yeah they're not too bad. I like the ones that attach to the side of the auto/manual shifter.
     
  13. hingo1983

    hingo1983 Member

    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    Hey guys, I'm after a bracket to mount a TomTom GPS. I'm hoping to mount it to the left hand side of the centre console. What is the best option?
     
  14. Lumps of cheese

    Lumps of cheese welcome to the machine

    Messages:
    2,770
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Warrnambool
    Members Ride:
    83 vh sle, 4x4 hilux, 03 monaro, 07 nightrain
  15. hingo1983

    hingo1983 Member

    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    I was thinking about creating something that mounted it below the CD player but I just don't have the tools or resources to pull it off. If there is an existing bracket that I can fit to it, I'd much rather take that option.
     
  16. tom_kauf

    tom_kauf New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon
    Thanks PaulSV6, that does look like the one in the 2nd pic. I'll get one of those, and one other type (because I ideally need 3 :whistling). It might look horrible, but oh well, it's a work car.
    I was thinking of putting one of your dad's type either side of the centre console, but the RH one (Navaman GPS maybe) might get in the way. We'll see.

    Juzo, yours is the original Holden one, right? Does it mount near the radio like the aftermarket one, or is it next to the shifter (on the transmission tunnel)? Any pics?
    From what you mentioned, it's a bit more expensive but that's ok if the setup looks better.

    My Navman F20 will have to go somewhere too. In my old car, I just made up a bracket. But I can't modify this car, so a 'no holes' option is needed. The bracket that PaulSV6 posted is probably what you're after. Remember that it's only the metal bracket that you buy, the cradle will go on top of that (in your case, a TomTom cradle, not a phone one).
     
  17. tom_kauf

    tom_kauf New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon
    DONE :w00t:

    It's not the prettiest setup, but it serves its purpose perfectly. And it's actually a very neat installation. It doesn't look as messy as some installations that have ugly mounts and wires everywhere.

    The 2 Brackets beside the Radio are the same type as the 2nd of the 2 that I posted above in one of my previous posts (even thought it was sold as a VY Bracket).

    But I had half my dash and centre console apart, before I realised that the zig-zag part goes beside the radio. They don't come with instructions, and I emailed all the suppliers that stocked them (including Aerpro), and none of them knew where it mounted :bang: .

    Anyway, it's the same as PaulSV6's Dad's bracket, but I just have them on both sides. When sliding the radio back in, it clamps it in without any screws, but mine slid up/down a little bit. The 2 screw holes line up with 2 screws that go into the radio (but mine needed a little bit of filing to fit perfectly). That then made it perfectly secure.

    Thanks to juzo, I went to Holden to get the Bracket on the transmission tunnel. That just clips underneath the trim, and the top half screws down on top. The colour actually matched pretty well (the camera flash made it look almost blue).


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. VT_SEN8OR

    VT_SEN8OR New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    Vt senator 195kw
    Hey u still got it??? Been a while lol 0412253720
     
  19. VT_SEN8OR

    VT_SEN8OR New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    Vt senator 195kw
    I'll buy it
     
  20. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    LMFAO ... if your asking about Nath selling the bracket I bought it off him in 2009 and it went with the car when I sold it earlier this year!
     

Share This Page