Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

MP3 CD player head units

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by DJ Majah, Jun 4, 2004.

  1. DJ Majah

    DJ Majah Electro doof doof styleé

    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Brisbane - Ipswich
    Members Ride:
    VSII cruiser
    Can anyone tell me about the quality of MP3 CD head units ? Does yours skip much/at all, is it quick to load tracks, and the overall sound compared to an original audio CD? Also what brand is it and how much did you pay?

    They are dropping in price so much now and I'm getting ready to buy one (should be under $400 installed) and I want to see what sort of common faults to expect.

    Thanks
    Nial
     
  2. PIMPIN

    PIMPIN The Lurker

    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    VIC
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 3.8 WHII Statesman LS1
    I have a JVC H/U, I paid $280 installed about 4 months ago. It doesn't skip at all, it loads up as fast as any CD player. With the sound compared to an audio CD, I usually record MP3s at about 192kpbs, I can't tell the difference - but then again, I'm not an audiophile. I haven't had any problems with mine at all.
     
  3. Bax

    Bax Projecting

    Messages:
    3,502
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    QLD
    Members Ride:
    Nothing
    I used to be able to tell the difference really easily, 128k just didn't cut it, I've since switched to 192 and its still a touch better, but they do lose some audio quality, and its usually bass, it will be good to listen to and you probably won't be able to tell the difference, until you get the real cd and compare the two.

    Mine loads up straight away basically and it has never skipped.
     
  4. DJ Majah

    DJ Majah Electro doof doof styleé

    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Brisbane - Ipswich
    Members Ride:
    VSII cruiser
    Where did you get that from pimpin?

    And what brand is yours bextor84?
     
  5. PIMPIN

    PIMPIN The Lurker

    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    VIC
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 3.8 WHII Statesman LS1
    I got mine from JB Hi-Fi. This is what it looks like.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Bax

    Bax Projecting

    Messages:
    3,502
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    QLD
    Members Ride:
    Nothing
    I got mine from a Local car audio place about two years ago when MP3 HU were all new and top of the line. Selling second hand for around 300 still though.

    [​IMG]

    Also comes with the adjustable angle.. i.e.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. DJ Majah

    DJ Majah Electro doof doof styleé

    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Brisbane - Ipswich
    Members Ride:
    VSII cruiser
    Looking nice, I like the ones with the faces that move around.

    I'll be getting a mid-high range unit because I want dual RCA outs with a high pass filter, so I guess Im looking around $500.

    Just wondering though, do your units do anything weird? Last year I bought a personal MP3 CD player, a cheap one, but very reliable and doesnt chew batteries, but at the end of songs it cuts off about 2 seconds of the audio, then has to spin up the CD again to read the next track, sometimes it can be 10 seconds between tracks. Are yours anything like this?

    I'd ask the guys who sell them, but I know I'll get a more realistic idea from real people who use them in real situations. Thanks guys.
     
  8. Bax

    Bax Projecting

    Messages:
    3,502
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    QLD
    Members Ride:
    Nothing
    Nah mine hasn't budged. It can be found second hand for around 300 if your lucky, and it should have more then enough options.

    Off the top of my head, 3 pre-outs.. 4x60.. umm, it is only mp3 though, not wma which is a bummer, but its old.
    As for bass you've got bass focus, frequency response, high pass / low pass i do believe, more then I need anyway.
     
  9. Whitshak

    Whitshak Guest

    Pioneer Headunit - No Problems

    I purchased a Pioneer MP3 headunit about 6 months ago. From what I can remember, it's RRP was around $400 installed. I've had no problems with sound quality etc. It loads the MP3 files (any bitrate) without problem.

    All I can say is in this day and age, buying a headunit without MP3/WMA support is like buying a computer with no screen ;)

    Anyway, that's my 2c worth!

    -Jason
     
  10. xstatic

    xstatic New Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    vt gen 3 berlina
    a mate of mine had the model up from pimpin and his went alright. But it got stolen 2 nights ago f***en dickheads.

    i got a cheap deck that doesn't play MP3's cause i can't afford anything else but it's alright

    cheers

    scott
     
  11. mza

    mza Guest

    ive got a pioneer mp3/wma one. only prob it has is it can take quite a while to load the cd but once its loaded and recognised as mp3s it behaves as quickly as a normal cd for skipping tracks/folders. however ive found on mine it starts to skip on some cds, even though theyve been in the player and havent left it, and it gets slowly worse. its weird. anybody had this problem?
     
  12. PIMPIN

    PIMPIN The Lurker

    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    VIC
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 3.8 WHII Statesman LS1
    I haven't had this problem...maybe it needs a clean?
     
  13. dsvtss

    dsvtss New Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    I put a pioneer MP3 head unit in, best thing i could do. Is a deh-7650MP, got it off e-bay for $500, that's about a $400 saving.
     
  14. Gobbles

    Gobbles New Member

    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    North Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim Series II

    i got the same head unit as pimpin does....i got mine off ebay for $330 when they were retailing for $400ish.....did installation myself and i find it only skips when using really shitty cd's that my mate uses everything else plays like a dream
     
  15. Baldric

    Baldric The BOSS

    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE GTS M6
    mp3 decks

    Myself, I have a Alpine CDa 7998R its the top of the line alpine Mp3 cd/mp3 whaterver deck the face slides inside the deck & has a pin code when power is cut off pretty good deck 60x4 with 3x rca outputs and rrp is 1200
    I paid 600
     

Share This Page