Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[NSW] My vs commie

Discussion in 'General' started by Shaun Anthony Livermore, Sep 25, 2018.

  1. Shaun Anthony Livermore

    Shaun Anthony Livermore New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    Maitland
    Members Ride:
    1995 vs holden Commodore executive
    Hi all i recently done a v6 engine swap on my 95 Commodore executive, with a new battery and new starter motor. The motor however will not crank fast enough to fire. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. Nut Kracker

    Nut Kracker Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,760
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Echuca Vic.
    Members Ride:
    VT SS 304ci (195i)
    What size battery did you put in?
    Maybe not enough cold cranking amps.
     
  3. Shaun Anthony Livermore

    Shaun Anthony Livermore New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    Maitland
    Members Ride:
    1995 vs holden Commodore executive
    Hi i put in a battery with 640 cold cranks which i thpught wouldve done the trick but still the same issue still cranks but not nearly enough for it to fire
     
  4. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,435
    Likes Received:
    2,208
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Sounds like a faulty starter motor or possibly cables.
     
  5. Shaun Anthony Livermore

    Shaun Anthony Livermore New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    Maitland
    Members Ride:
    1995 vs holden Commodore executive
    I tested the voltage on the new starter motor once hooked up and it looked good but still not enough to crank fast enough to start, the weitd thing is everything tested ok on the voltage metre
     
  6. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,435
    Likes Received:
    2,208
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Try load testing the battery. If that checks out the SM is probably on its way out. I replaced my starter because it was worn out and found the brand new one whips it over way faster.
     
  7. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,435
    Likes Received:
    2,208
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    You could try some areostart to get it running and see if it comes good after that.
     
  8. Shaun Anthony Livermore

    Shaun Anthony Livermore New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Location:
    Maitland
    Members Ride:
    1995 vs holden Commodore executive
    I used start ya basterd but still nothing
     
  9. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,435
    Likes Received:
    2,208
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Turn your lights on, get someone to crank the engine and test the voltage in the battery at the same time. Report back what the volts are under load.
     
  10. vr304

    vr304 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    2007 ssv manual
    Possibly an issue with an earth? Did u recconect all of the earths properly when you swapped the engine over? Also was your engine swap like for like? (Ie vs Ecotec for vs Ecotec)
     

Share This Page