Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

need 5 speed advice

N

nicholas61

Guest
Hi, i have a VN 5lt with tired 5 speed box, can i use the 6cyl one or are they different boxes or input shaft?
cheers
 

nizmovk

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NZ
Members Ride
VK wagon
not sure but think the bell houses are diff thats all. do you know what box it is and if its factory?
 
N

nicholas61

Guest
gee that was quick,lol,
standard box i was told,(T5)
 

STEALTHY™

So Wet For You!
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
6,630
Reaction score
82
Points
48
Location
SA - The Roadworks State
Members Ride
VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
the boxes are the same (except V6 series 1 VNs), but if you V8 one is 'tired', a V6 one wouldn't last you very long.
 

nizmovk

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NZ
Members Ride
VK wagon
sorry to change the subject but did you do the conv on the vk, stealthy?
 

STEALTHY™

So Wet For You!
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
6,630
Reaction score
82
Points
48
Location
SA - The Roadworks State
Members Ride
VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
nizmovk said:
sorry to change the subject but did you do the conv on the vk, stealthy?
yeah, the ol Carby V8 isn't too good on fuel, so bought a Vn and used the V6 and 5 speed. Almost done, and just sourcing some wheels and she'll be all sweet.
 

nizmovk

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NZ
Members Ride
VK wagon
amen on the v8, so im doin RB30 conv
 
N

nicholas61

Guest
is there actually any difference between a v6 and v8 t5?
i remember aussie 4 speeds were same internals between 6 and 8 but imput shaft was longer for v8,so worried they wont intewrchange .
 

pandaman

Aussie Muscle Fan
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
783
Reaction score
24
Points
0
Age
36
Members Ride
VN Berlina 5.0 A4
nicholas61 said:
is there actually any difference between a v6 and v8 t5?
i remember aussie 4 speeds were same internals between 6 and 8 but imput shaft was longer for v8,so worried they wont intewrchange .
I'm pretty sure that you're correct, I remember reading somewhere that the input shaft is different between the 6 and 8 cylinder T5's. I know for a fact that was the case with the Ford T5's, but I'm not 100% certain about the Holden's. Anyone know? Anyway, it wouldn't be too hard to swap the input shaft over would it? Excuse my ignorance if I'm wrong but I know F'all about transmissions.
 
Top