Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Need Help finding IAT

AnotherGoodReason

AnotherGoodReason
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Frankston
Members Ride
VY Country Ute
hey guys just windering if anyone can give me some directions to find the Inlet Air Temp sensor on a vy v6 eco, got a mod to put in it just not sure if i got the right spot..

cheers
 

AnotherGoodReason

AnotherGoodReason
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Frankston
Members Ride
VY Country Ute
just to clarify is it the wire that run into the air filter box or into the air flow metre.

or is it somewhere else on the engine.

cheers
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
434
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
i think its in the airfilter box like vs was i presume you bought one of those stupid resistors to fool the ecu to thinking it has colder air never a good idea using them things at all
 

ephect

Donating Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
5,064
Reaction score
3,897
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
i think its in the airfilter box like vs was i presume you bought one of those stupid resistors to fool the ecu to thinking it has colder air never a good idea using them things at all
as delcowizzid said, yes its located in the airbox but dont do it man, u just got con'd! use the resister to build something usefull. do a search there is heaps on this ""mod""
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
434
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
all they do is add extra fuel and in most places the ecu just tunes it back out anyway probably end up using more fuel than anything else
 

ephect

Donating Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
5,064
Reaction score
3,897
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
again as delcowizzid said: it just keeps the ecu thinking its cold so it dumps a shitload of fuel in, and u gain no power, u'll foul ur o2 sensors pritty quick, damages ur plugs.

i had mates do it, and the ecu hasnt really got a chance to correct it properly.

do a search it'll bring up all the threads on this
 

AnotherGoodReason

AnotherGoodReason
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Frankston
Members Ride
VY Country Ute
yeah just been reading through a post on diff chips and stuff to add in got any ideas of what i can go for if ya know of anything that works..
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
434
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
put a heap of mods on ie headers exhaust cai cam and then get a custom tune
 

ephect

Donating Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
5,064
Reaction score
3,897
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
forget chips for the time being, go for rockers, nice bang for your buck mod, and piss easy to do. exhaust both headers and catback, and diff gears for that extra poke down low.

then after all that, get a tune to unlease those extra kw's hidden away.

EDIT: delcowizzard, always a couple steps ahead of me :p
 
Top