Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

New Canberra Member First Post Holden Commodore needing advice about Oil Overfilled

DirkOz

Reaction score
Members Ride
Commodore Epica CDXI 2.5l Auto, Lumina 2001 Auto
Hi, I'm in Canberra and just bought a Commodore 2007 CDXI Auto..
I'm totally new to Holden Brand.
Leather is perfect. Paint and panel is perfect.
It's been sitting for a couple of years and the engine is currently overfilled about 6cm above the max level on the oil dipstick.
Coolant is also very low, barely covering the bottom of the bottle.
1st job is to get it home on a trailer
2nd Battery is totally flat, so I'll be charging it with 9 Stage Century Charger, then take the battery to Battery World for a load test.
3rd Drain the oil totally and refill to the correct level. My question on this is "would the engine have been damaged by the oil being overfilled as much as that?"
EDIT:- Search online answered my question thoroughly...
https://www.thoughtco.com/start-car-been-in-storage-726206
Can anyone recommend places to go to in Canberra for a thorough going over, Major Service and Rego Inspection?
(that is, if it starts/runs)
I'm thinking that the tyres may have flat spots on them, so I'll remove the wheels and take them to the place I've been getting my tyres from, so they can check if they're OK.
EDIT:- Good article which explains "Tyre Flat Spotting" https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=42
That's enough questions for now! Go!

Last edited:

DAJOKER

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SV6 II Wagon
Sounds more like you’ve got yourself a Holden Epica. Be a 2.5L V6 I think. They made by Daewoo.

Anyway, sounds like someone doesn’t know anything about servicing it if it’s got that much oil in it.