Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

new Cold air intake Drama.

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
G'day guys,

I just bought a new Holden Cold air intake kit. See Ebay link.

Holden V8 Cold Air Intake Package VN VP VQ VR VS - eBay, Air Intake, Fuel Delivery, Car Parts, Accessories, Cars, Bikes, Boats. (end time 17-Apr-09 17:13:15 AEST)

It all went together well. I had a small drama with the Air sensor tube I could only get the tube on half way up the brass barb.

But My major issue is when i am driving and have to pull up quick, not ultra ABS quick, but when you come up to a intersection after doing 80-100km and hit the brakes the battery light comes on and the car stalls. put in neutral start back up and away I go.

It was fine before. All I did was put the CAI on and that's it. now I did drop a shifter a couple of times and it brushed passed the alternator.

Any help would be appricated

Cheers.
 

greenfoam

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
7,902
Reaction score
125
Points
0
Age
100
Members Ride
VP Executive R-spec
Coincidence :) unsure what the problem is but it's not the intake and why did you have a shifter ?
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
434
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
what do you mean by not getting the air sensor tube on properly pics of it by any chance
 

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
Oh mate I had all sorts of tools I am not a mechanic lol. I had Sh1t every ware.

Ill take some pics tomorrow. but when i drilled the hole for the tube in the top part of the air box I didn't allow for the over the radiator bit and now I can only push the rubber tube half way on.
 

greenfoam

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
7,902
Reaction score
125
Points
0
Age
100
Members Ride
VP Executive R-spec
You've got me beat too. Brass barb?? tubes?? Air sensors??. Isn't it like 3 10 mm bolts two phillips screws and cut a slot in the lower box job done :)? Did there happen to be a white vehicle covered in ceramic tiles nearby that you mistook for your Stato? I beleive they are of a similar size
 

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
You are correct greenfoam.

But look at the pics.
 

Attachments

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
434
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
where does the hose on the brass barb goto.
 

kummo

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR Statesman
I think it goes into the left rocca cover? it was on the stock air box and the bloke said i have to put it in the new one.
Edit: Car is duel fuel.
 
Last edited:

muttley383

Donating Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2007
Messages
170
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Members Ride
VR 383
Why is the drivers side breather not in the original throttle body port?.Is it because of the dual fuel setup?.
Should still work ok where you have it as long as there are no other open ports.
 
Top