Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

New headunit replacement SOON

Banjo79

Active Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
484
Reaction score
154
Points
43
Location
...
Members Ride
VF SS Sportwagon
I have a feeling this will be a FHD screen as mentioned in the video as opposed to UHD in the specs.
 

stooge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
951
Reaction score
532
Points
93
Location
wa
Members Ride
VF SSV
I have a feeling this will be a FHD screen as mentioned in the video as opposed to UHD in the specs.
You are probably right, it would be a waste to have a uhd screen in 8inch for a infotainment system because all the scaling would need to be very high to make the text readable and icons usable which really defeats the purpose.
1080p @8 inch would look the same as 2160p
 
Last edited:

abuch47

Active Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2018
Messages
920
Reaction score
246
Points
43
Location
Madelaide
Members Ride
LSS3 YOOTE
assuming for internet you still need to hotspot your phone or get a mobile data unit? Or only have internet as a phone mirror. prefer to use android auto but wondering if Dashcam integration may have data somehow when in parking mode.
 

BlackVXGTS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
3,675
Reaction score
619
Points
113
Location
Melbourne, SE
Members Ride
GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
Re the demonstration:

1. The performance (or lack thereof) of the gridlines weren't obvious. The bend in the gridlines was only very slight, so not a good demonstration from that point of view.
2. Didn't see any navigation demonstrated at all. Likewise, as previous posters have mentioned, we need to know where the maps and updates are coming from.
 

Jacks5000

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
23
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Age
50
Location
Melb
Members Ride
VF SV6 Commodore
The unit looks good on the youtube demonstrated and show good integration to the VF
but the spec don't say much ie
50X4 amplifier with DSP (Digital Sound Processor and Equalizer) what type of amp?
RCA Only 2 channel out & 1 sub ( if this correct this is poor ) if you have a wagon or sedan and what to add an amp
What the screen resolution?
I would like to see the user manual at to what it can do
 

stooge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
951
Reaction score
532
Points
93
Location
wa
Members Ride
VF SSV
Didn't see any navigation demonstrated at all. Likewise, as previous posters have mentioned, we need to know where the maps and updates are coming from.
You have a good point there.
Most chinese aftermarket units use igo with cracked app/map packs because you have to pay for the maps.
It makes me wonder if this system is setup with the same thing.

Another important thing that people should keep in mind is the bootup time of the system because i have seen some android systems take 2 or 3 minutes to boot and that can be annoying because some of them wont show the reverse cam in that time.
 

Mavericks Choice

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
259
Reaction score
2,753
Points
93
Location
NSW
Members Ride
VF2 SSV M6, VF2 LS3 Calais V, VZ 6L M6 Crewie
You have a good point there.
Most chinese aftermarket units use igo with cracked app/map packs because you have to pay for the maps.
It makes me wonder if this system is setup with the same thing.

Another important thing that people should keep in mind is the bootup time of the system because i have seen some android systems take 2 or 3 minutes to boot and that can be annoying because some of them wont show the reverse cam in that time.
Chinese head unit I have in my old Crewie, takes about 30 sec to load Nav, but radio & rev cam is instant.
 

RED LION

Active Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
459
Reaction score
188
Points
43
Location
SA
Members Ride
VFII Redline
I wouldn't really care about the map updates since I'd use carplay maps anyway. I'd trust Google maps before a car sat nav.
 

stooge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
951
Reaction score
532
Points
93
Location
wa
Members Ride
VF SSV
Chinese head unit I have in my old Crewie, takes about 30 sec to load Nav, but radio & rev cam is instant.
I didnt mean the time for the apps to load i mean the cold boot time of the entire headunit(os).
The android chinese s160 units for the ve took almost 60 seconds to boot and in that time the entire unit was unusable and reverse cam wouldnt work.
The windows ce units would boot much quicker which would be around 5 seconds but all of the android ones were alot slower.
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
1,599
Reaction score
478
Points
83
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
My android unit cold boots in about 50 secs. Near instant if putting in reverse for the reversing cam.
I have to wait a few seconds for the revs to settle down on a cold start anyway.

Mine is a <$300.00 10inch headunit delivered to my door a couple of years ago.
 

stooge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
951
Reaction score
532
Points
93
Location
wa
Members Ride
VF SSV
It will depend on how the camera switching is implemented.
If is software based it will have to wait for the os to boot before it will display the camera.
If it is hardware based(passthrough) then it should be pretty quick like the original mylink.

They can avoid the os needing to boot by simply putting the unit to "sleep" so it is always powered up but that will consume battery and eventually the vf will go into power saving mode.

If they dont make the os sleep it will need to be cold booted every time you park the vehicle for more than about 5 minutes.

Once they start shipping them we will find out how good or bad they really are.
 

ciggo

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VF SSV Redline
Will be interesting to see. Seems as thought they are doing testing with Redline/HUD models before the end of this month.

Concerned about how fast the system will be.

Someone also raised the point about front and rear traffic sensors. Any word on if these will translate on the unit?
 

stooge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
951
Reaction score
532
Points
93
Location
wa
Members Ride
VF SSV
Concerned about how fast the system will be.

Someone also raised the point about front and rear traffic sensors. Any word on if these will translate on the unit?
They say in the demo video it is compatible with the sensors.
As for speed they dont list the cpu type they just say 8 core which could be a number of different ones some are crap so hands on with cpuz will clear that up.
It has 4gb of ram which is very good and 32gb of storage.

So it will probably be ok.
 

ciggo

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VF SSV Redline
They say in the demo video it is compatible with the sensors.
As for speed they dont list the cpu type they just say 8 core which could be a number of different ones some are crap so hands on with cpuz will clear that up.
It has 4gb of ram which is very good and 32gb of storage.

So it will probably be ok.
Only time will tell I suppose. System specs seem good but it really depends on the implementation and how well it interacts with the VF.

If it's as good as they say it'll be well worth the money. Spotify and Google maps on a customisable Android based OS? I'm in.
 

abuch47

Active Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2018
Messages
920
Reaction score
246
Points
43
Location
Madelaide
Members Ride
LSS3 YOOTE
saw this as well seemed like a good idea that may be superceded by the mentioned unit
 

stooge

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
951
Reaction score
532
Points
93
Location
wa
Members Ride
VF SSV
saw this as well seemed like a good idea that may be superceded by the mentioned unit
yeah they are using a hd-link box
these have been around for a while and they add a hdmi input so they can plugin the appletv or android etc.
the one from kayhan is a full replacement which is what we have needed for a long time and it runs on android which is far superior for "tv" if you are into that thing so there is no need for an external box.

I will get one once I get to see the proper cold boot time because in kayhans video they have the vehicle "primed" and what I mean by that is you can see all the lights lit up on the dash so the unit was only asleep because it still had full power(ACC).
 

TTubrag

Active Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
190
Reaction score
102
Points
43
Location
Perth
Members Ride
2016 VFII SSV Redline
Really looks the goods. ALL of the car's functionality coming across would be necessary for me to consider switching. Reversing, HUD, bi-modal activation etc.
 

ciggo

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VF SSV Redline
Really looks the goods. ALL of the car's functionality coming across would be necessary for me to consider switching. Reversing, HUD, bi-modal activation etc.
I think they said in the video the Bi-Modal would be available in the settings.

Reversing camera was shown briefly with the lines but not a live demo so not sure how well it would work.
 
Last edited:
Top