Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

New headunit replacement SOON

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by [paradox], Apr 7, 2019.

  1. Banjo79

    Banjo79 Active Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Location:
    ...
    Members Ride:
    VF SS Sportwagon
    I have a feeling this will be a FHD screen as mentioned in the video as opposed to UHD in the specs.
     
  2. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    You are probably right, it would be a waste to have a uhd screen in 8inch for a infotainment system because all the scaling would need to be very high to make the text readable and icons usable which really defeats the purpose.
    1080p @8 inch would look the same as 2160p
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2019
  3. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    assuming for internet you still need to hotspot your phone or get a mobile data unit? Or only have internet as a phone mirror. prefer to use android auto but wondering if Dashcam integration may have data somehow when in parking mode.
     
  4. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,403
    Likes Received:
    434
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    Re the demonstration:

    1. The performance (or lack thereof) of the gridlines weren't obvious. The bend in the gridlines was only very slight, so not a good demonstration from that point of view.
    2. Didn't see any navigation demonstrated at all. Likewise, as previous posters have mentioned, we need to know where the maps and updates are coming from.
     
    VS_Pete, RED LION and KING46Calais V like this.
  5. Jacks5000

    Jacks5000 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Location:
    Melb
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6 Commodore
    The unit looks good on the youtube demonstrated and show good integration to the VF
    but the spec don't say much ie
    50X4 amplifier with DSP (Digital Sound Processor and Equalizer) what type of amp?
    RCA Only 2 channel out & 1 sub ( if this correct this is poor ) if you have a wagon or sedan and what to add an amp
    What the screen resolution?
    I would like to see the user manual at to what it can do
     
  6. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    You have a good point there.
    Most chinese aftermarket units use igo with cracked app/map packs because you have to pay for the maps.
    It makes me wonder if this system is setup with the same thing.

    Another important thing that people should keep in mind is the bootup time of the system because i have seen some android systems take 2 or 3 minutes to boot and that can be annoying because some of them wont show the reverse cam in that time.
     
  7. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    anyone received?
     
  8. Mavericks Choice

    Mavericks Choice Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF S2 M6, VE Calais V 6L S/Wagon, VZ 6L M6 Crewie
    Chinese head unit I have in my old Crewie, takes about 30 sec to load Nav, but radio & rev cam is instant.
     
  9. RED LION

    RED LION Active Member

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    VFII Redline
    I wouldn't really care about the map updates since I'd use carplay maps anyway. I'd trust Google maps before a car sat nav.
     
  10. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    I didnt mean the time for the apps to load i mean the cold boot time of the entire headunit(os).
    The android chinese s160 units for the ve took almost 60 seconds to boot and in that time the entire unit was unusable and reverse cam wouldnt work.
    The windows ce units would boot much quicker which would be around 5 seconds but all of the android ones were alot slower.
     
  11. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    My android unit cold boots in about 50 secs. Near instant if putting in reverse for the reversing cam.
    I have to wait a few seconds for the revs to settle down on a cold start anyway.

    Mine is a <$300.00 10inch headunit delivered to my door a couple of years ago.
     
  12. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    It will depend on how the camera switching is implemented.
    If is software based it will have to wait for the os to boot before it will display the camera.
    If it is hardware based(passthrough) then it should be pretty quick like the original mylink.

    They can avoid the os needing to boot by simply putting the unit to "sleep" so it is always powered up but that will consume battery and eventually the vf will go into power saving mode.

    If they dont make the os sleep it will need to be cold booted every time you park the vehicle for more than about 5 minutes.

    Once they start shipping them we will find out how good or bad they really are.
     
  13. ciggo

    ciggo New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Redline
    Will be interesting to see. Seems as thought they are doing testing with Redline/HUD models before the end of this month.

    Concerned about how fast the system will be.

    Someone also raised the point about front and rear traffic sensors. Any word on if these will translate on the unit?
     
  14. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    They say in the demo video it is compatible with the sensors.
    As for speed they dont list the cpu type they just say 8 core which could be a number of different ones some are crap so hands on with cpuz will clear that up.
    It has 4gb of ram which is very good and 32gb of storage.

    So it will probably be ok.
     
  15. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    Last edited: May 23, 2019
  16. ciggo

    ciggo New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Redline
    Only time will tell I suppose. System specs seem good but it really depends on the implementation and how well it interacts with the VF.

    If it's as good as they say it'll be well worth the money. Spotify and Google maps on a customisable Android based OS? I'm in.
     
  17. abuch47

    abuch47 Active Member

    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Madelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 YOOTE
    saw this as well seemed like a good idea that may be superceded by the mentioned unit
     
  18. stooge

    stooge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    yeah they are using a hd-link box
    [​IMG]
    these have been around for a while and they add a hdmi input so they can plugin the appletv or android etc.
    the one from kayhan is a full replacement which is what we have needed for a long time and it runs on android which is far superior for "tv" if you are into that thing so there is no need for an external box.

    I will get one once I get to see the proper cold boot time because in kayhans video they have the vehicle "primed" and what I mean by that is you can see all the lights lit up on the dash so the unit was only asleep because it still had full power(ACC).
     
  19. TTubrag

    TTubrag Active Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    2016 VFII SSV Redline
    Really looks the goods. ALL of the car's functionality coming across would be necessary for me to consider switching. Reversing, HUD, bi-modal activation etc.
     
  20. ciggo

    ciggo New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Redline
    I think they said in the video the Bi-Modal would be available in the settings.

    Reversing camera was shown briefly with the lines but not a live demo so not sure how well it would work.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2019

Share This Page