Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Noob startin out

Reaction score
Hey hey, my first post, so just sayin, hello all, happy to be here, and hopin to get some help :)

Right, I'm a noob.

I got my holden VR commodore stationwagon of my parents, no treble watsoever out o it, I want new speakers, specially out da front. Now, I took a good look at my speaker bay on the front doors, an I got no idea how to take of the plastic grill over the speakers. There are holes around da grill and no matter what I try, the grill won't budge, just bend. How do I take it off?

And secondly, will pioneer, jvc, etc. speakers of about 150-250w fit into that speaker system or do I need to amp up. In other words, will the original tuner amp/ tapedeck, handle the speaker, wattage, as to make good sound, without overheating and burnin out?

Thirdly, I've read around here, I gather the speakers are supposed to be 6" at da front right?

In the back BTW I will be puttin in this sub. I made it, its a 10" machine, does 32hz at reasonably awsome loudness.:yeah: BTW that is my paintjob :)

enjoy

This one is an optical elusion; but real (serious)

garfa

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SS
yeah you need to pull the whole door off. there are tutorials around the forum, just have a quick search or even better get a workshop manual. lots of piccies and it will be good later on if you ever want to do anything to the car. they are about $50.
6 inch in the front and yes some pioneers/aftermarket will sound ok from the h/u. no burning out of the h/u or anything. sound better with an amp though;) .
nice paint job... how did you do it? lots of clear coat? how are you going to power the sub? looks like an inbuilt amp that needs 240VAC to power it...

Reaction score