Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Jake Wilson

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SS Sedan
Hey guys,

Foreword - I'm a brand-new novice in the world of cars, but hoping to learn, and to probably begin to modify my VF SS in the coming months (also looking for suggestions on where to start with that - performance and handling, not just lowered with an exhaust haha). So forgive me if my questions seem a little daft.

I just bought and installed a genuine Holden boot liner for my 2014 Series 1 VF SS Commodore Sedan. I purchased it from Peter Page Holden and did clarify with them prior to purchase that it would fit (no refunds, hence the next part).

When I got it home it would have easily fit, but on the back right-hand side, there was a plastic guard I had to remove (easy), which revealed the car battery (mounted properly on a genuine Holden mount and properly attached to the car itself). Its placement interfered considerably with installing the boot liner. In the end, I just chose to cut out a large enough section of the boot liner to allow a reasonably flush fit and replaced the guard.

I'm happy with the end result, as it achieved what I was looking for, but I can't see why the battery is located there. I checked the engine bay where there appears to be space for the battery in the normal location. All genuine or aftermarket boot liners I looked at, that were designed to specifically meet the specifications of the boot space did not account for the battery location, and to be honest I didn't foresee the problem prior to buying the part.