Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

OBD II Connection

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by PRAVX II S, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. PRAVX II S

    PRAVX II S Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    OBD2
    Almost everyone no's that bridging pins 5/6 gets faults out of the PCM. Using a paper clip.
    You also can buy a a OBD II male connector.
    And bridge the pins 5/6 on it. So all you have to do is plug and play.

    Image 1
    The OBD II connector

    Image 2
    Front view of OBD II connector. Bridge pins 5/6 test with multimeter for continuity.

    Image 3
    Solder pins 5/6 together make sure its only pins 5/6 check continuity with multimeter.

    You can use this when ever you want. on the eco. You can do more things then that if you no how the PCM works.
    You can buy OBD II connector on ebay/jaycar.
     

    Attached Files:

    Craig Facey likes this.
  2. Craig Facey

    Craig Facey Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sanctuary Point
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 5.7
    Has anyone else done this? Got pictures? Can you do it with an EML327?
     
  3. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,089
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    Bridging pins 5 & 6 doesn't work with the LS1 but if you have an ELM327 and buy the Software on Elm Street for about $50 you can read the fault codes as well as other things: https://www.envyouscustoms.com/diagnostics/softwares/software-elm-street/. Well worth the money.
     
    Craig Facey likes this.
  4. Craig Facey

    Craig Facey Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sanctuary Point
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 5.7
    Yea it sounds to me like a good way to blow up your ECU or something else similarly catastrophic :( Because ALDL is never going to magically turn into OBD2.... Just like French people don't usually speak Icelandic and Trump doesn't usually speak any sense... lol

    But I'll research anything that sounds interesting.....

    P.S. mine is a wireless bluetooth ELM so from what I've looked at so far I don't know that the software you mentioned will work? .....might need to get a cable to the laptop perhaps?

    P.P.S. also has anyone compared that software (which sounds good) to the Tech2 that everyone raves about in terms of its ability to talk back to the hardware as well as read it?
     
  5. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,089
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    The Tech II is the bee's knees with a price tag to match. It obviously does everything but few of us can afford one. Software On Elm Street is specifically designed for the Holden LS1 and is great for reading and clearing engine fault codes and live readouts of all the engine sensors.
     
    Craig Facey likes this.
  6. Craig Facey

    Craig Facey Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sanctuary Point
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 5.7
    If a jobs worth doing (as a Holden always is!) then it's worth doing well!

    At $435 online the Tech2 seems well worth it as a good investment.... except that in 12 months I plan/hope (depending how life goes) to move on to a Haltech...
     
    accentstencil likes this.
  7. vt_II_senator_sig

    vt_II_senator_sig New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VT II HSV Senator Signature
    Howdy.
    i dont know if this helps you with your decision making about investing in a tech2... but...
    Ive got Soe for my ls1, which is great and works on my ls1 and our ve sv6 at clearing all engine warnings (existing and history) etc and gives all engine and trannie live data. i bought the elm cable at the time, so i think it was $80 all up... the problem i had was that if you want to clear abs warnings on your ls1, then i had to buy the aldl cable package aswell, as this is all cleared over a different protocol... so this was another $80. the aldl cable is good for the v6 ecotec series, but i just use tunerpro to look at live data and faults etc...
    the next issue i have with this software is that its tied into my crappy laptop which i now cant get rid of because licenses are not transferable between computers... which is a bummer...
    the obd2 cable also wont clear abs type warnings on the ve series, only general engine fault warnings.
    if you want to put in a level 3 cluster in your car and change cluster settings to suit your car, you can do this with the other subscription software that you pay per year or month... i wanted to do this to my acclaim wagon but seemed abit too expensive to justify a few extra dash windows of information for this price.
    so in the long run if you want to do all of this stuff, the price for the tech2 isnt that far out the window... and its not bound to a old laptop...
    hope this helps...
     
    Craig Facey and Lex like this.
  8. Craig Facey

    Craig Facey Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sanctuary Point
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 5.7
    Think I'll start with SOE from Tazzi... nice to support Aussie businesses where you can.... might get the Tech2 as well down the track but SOE looks like it might do all the same stuff and more???

    I was also worried that the cheaper Tech2's could be chinese clones.... I bought a cloned phone a little while back and it was a nightmare! I had to do an eBay dispute cause the guy tried to tell me it was OEM.... Get what you pay for!
     
    vt_II_senator_sig likes this.
  9. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,413
    Likes Received:
    2,197
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    I use Envious Customs AED on my slightly older bus than your's and it's great. I reckon anything from Tazzi and you're on a winner. So easy to use as well.
     
    Craig Facey likes this.
  10. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,089
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    Those cheap Tech 2s usually are the Chinese clones. The real thing is much more expensive.
     
    Craig Facey likes this.
  11. Craig Facey

    Craig Facey Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Sanctuary Point
    Members Ride:
    VTII Calais 5.7
    SOE from Tazzi is great and has paid itself off quickly... I had a gut feeling it was just O2 sensors and now that they're replaced things are sweet..... thanks for all the tips peoples :)
     
  12. Brady Leighton

    Brady Leighton Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Members Ride:
    2000 VX SS, 1999 VT Berlina, 2000 VX Calais Super6
    Jaycar no longer sell obd 2 plugs,anywhere in tasmania that would(off the shelf)
     
  13. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,892
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    You just looking for an empty obd plug and shell I have them
     
  14. Brady Leighton

    Brady Leighton Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Members Ride:
    2000 VX SS, 1999 VT Berlina, 2000 VX Calais Super6
    I was looking for one to wire a serial plug to, issue is im in tassie and dont have an actual "postage address "
     
  15. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,892
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    That makes it difficult lol
     
  16. Brady Leighton

    Brady Leighton Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Members Ride:
    2000 VX SS, 1999 VT Berlina, 2000 VX Calais Super6
    Sure does mate, know anywhere on launnie that might have em
     
  17. Nut Kracker

    Nut Kracker Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,760
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Echuca Vic.
    Members Ride:
    VT SS 304ci (195i)
    All I did. was to tap into the 5 and 6 wires at the back of the OBD socket
    and run a couple of wires to a switch.
    Simples......
    No need for plugs or paper clips.
     
  18. Brady Leighton

    Brady Leighton Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Members Ride:
    2000 VX SS, 1999 VT Berlina, 2000 VX Calais Super6
    Yeah but i am looking to wire a serial plug to it, not linking 5 and 6
     
  19. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Why do you want to link a serial plug to it?
    What are you trying to do?
     
  20. Brady Leighton

    Brady Leighton Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Members Ride:
    2000 VX SS, 1999 VT Berlina, 2000 VX Calais Super6
    I have an older custom obd 2 programmer and i lost the obd2 to serial connection. I have the pinout
     

Share This Page