Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Alloytec] On-The-Cheap DIY CAI issues. I've done my best and it's running like crap! =(

Sparrow

Reaction score
Members Ride
SVZ Wagon
I've been spending valentine's day with my car! I'm okay with this. Alright, so I really badly wanted one of those scoop style CAI's for my V6 175 but right now I'm a poor ass uni student so I ended up with this rough 2nd hand noname brand CAI with a nice hole cut in the back from the previous user, see here:
Hole lot of issue

As you can see there was very little for a good piece of tubing to grab onto so I'd decided to use selastic to fill in the gaps as the previous owner had done. Now seeing as I can't afford a MAF-less tune right now, I also removed the MAF sensor itself from it's cosy home and added it to the excitement, see here:
Them MAFs

After allowing for the selastic to properly cure and refitting the whole mess, I gritted my teeth and turned the key... start up was ordinary, 1 maybe 2 seconds after that however? cylinders missing, HUD starts beeping away and I hastily turn it off, all round bad experience. I tried a few more times after some visual inspections, nothing other than my hideous attachment appears to be amiss.
Full Deal