Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ordered new 8" 2DIN Sat Nav Stereo for my VE Series I

cewing

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
521
Reaction score
24
Points
18
Location
Castle Hill
Members Ride
VE SSV SWAGON
I am unsure about the look of the unit, nothing against your purchase and I would love to upgrade the tech in my SSV but it just doesn't get me over the line. I think it's the button layout and dials just look a bit dated to me.
They've shown they have the ability to make it look similar to the ssv unit...why don't they make it look almost the same? Volume buttons are silly...why couldn't they stick with the volume and dual AC pots?
 

TazzI

Envyous Customs
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
358
Points
83
Location
Western Australia
Website
www.envyouscustoms.com
Members Ride
Holden VE SS Ute
I personally only ever use steering wheel control for volume ect. I dont think I ever used the volume knobs when I had the SSV unit installed... even with the IQ I still dont use them.
The first things to fail on both S1 and S2 radios is the volume controls. They go a bit funny and dont turn up/down smoothly, Im sure theres a few people that know what I mean as I see it alot!

Soo.. volume buttons arent convenient, but steering wheel controls are the way to go anyways. The changes they made are a bit different but still looks like it works great.

I think this is a fantastic upgrade option, Iv actually gone a step further on this and have been doing my research plus contacting various companies, looks like the unit is available in two different models being low and high end as well as in silver or grey.
Gazoc, I believe the unit you have is the low end model which is primary for the single zone vehicles.
I still have to confirm, but I believe there is a high end model is faster which also the ability to be single zone ect.
 

Capsule

Active Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2014
Messages
581
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
45
Location
Brisbane, QLD
Members Ride
MY09 VE Omega
It fits the dash great, the only thing is it only comes in silver that may be a put off for some,
I was going to plastic dip the Fascia & silver trim to black, don't know yet

as VPFreak said ' I would leave it silver, as it looks more "factory" '
I didn't like the Silver on mine either, but I had the silver Console and the default Omega steering wheel.

Now I've got a grey center console (I think it's from the Calais, it's actually the same grey as the dash trims), with just a silver accent around the gear knob assembly, and an SSV steering wheel with silver trims so that's a perfect match and the whole thing doesn't look as "plasticky" as before.

IMG_1528.JPG

(now I've got the leather gear knob with the chromed base, looks even better!)
 

Shaneo83

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
37
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
2010 VE SSV Sedan
They've shown they have the ability to make it look similar to the ssv unit...why don't they make it look almost the same? Volume buttons are silly...why couldn't they stick with the volume and dual AC pots?
Exactly what I was thinking, they definitely have he ability but should match the factory layout and maybe offer a few colour options. If it looked like the factory SSV unit, i'd buy one tomorrow and i'm sure they'd sell a lot more.
 

Shaneo83

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
37
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
2010 VE SSV Sedan
I personally only ever use steering wheel control for volume ect. I dont think I ever used the volume knobs when I had the SSV unit installed... even with the IQ I still dont use them.
The first things to fail on both S1 and S2 radios is the volume controls. They go a bit funny and dont turn up/down smoothly, Im sure theres a few people that know what I mean as I see it alot!

Soo.. volume buttons arent convenient, but steering wheel controls are the way to go anyways. The changes they made are a bit different but still looks like it works great.

I think this is a fantastic upgrade option, Iv actually gone a step further on this and have been doing my research plus contacting various companies, looks like the unit is available in two different models being low and high end as well as in silver or grey.
Gazoc, I believe the unit you have is the low end model which is primary for the single zone vehicles.
I still have to confirm, but I believe there is a high end model is faster which also the ability to be single zone ect.
Keep us updated with the high end option and how that looks
 

gazac

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Riverstone
Members Ride
VE SV6
Not realy, the buttons and dials are much the same as my stock radio in my SV6 series 1, seeing you have a SSV don't you have a color touch screen, it's more for the SV6 & SS series 1, the ones without a screen
My son has a SSV series 2 & he still loves it, & say it shits over he's one with what it can do.

In the end I had a crap radio



How this is what I have, with Radio, Navigation, Bluetooth, DVD, Steering Wheel Interface, Air Conditioner Dials/Buttons, Rear View Camera & lots more for only $750
it even has a Dash Cam Driver Recorder Connection, & the big 8" screen, it sound great also.


Thanks Shaneo83
 

gazac

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Riverstone
Members Ride
VE SV6
They've shown they have the ability to make it look similar to the ssv unit...why don't they make it look almost the same? Volume buttons are silly...why couldn't they stick with the volume and dual AC pots?
I know what you mean cewing, I would say they keeped it to a price, there is room behind to do it that way, the dual AC I don't have so don't miss it, also I use the Steering Wheel Button to change Volume so not a big deal
It installed like the stock one also, the main unit goes in the same place as the stock one & uses the same screws & holes, the Fascia with the screen & controls clip into holes like the stock one.
Thanks Gary
 
Last edited:

gazac

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Riverstone
Members Ride
VE SV6
I think this is a fantastic upgrade option, Iv actually gone a step further on this and have been doing my research plus contacting various companies, looks like the unit is available in two different models being low and high end as well as in silver or grey.
Gazoc, I believe the unit you have is the low end model which is primary for the single zone vehicles.
I still have to confirm, but I believe there is a high end model is faster which also the ability to be single zone ect.
My one is a Platinum Series, Masten-Engineered Pro Sound, 1,000MHz (1GHz) Cortex A8 Samsung Processor, DDR II 512mb RAM
So I don't think it's the low end model, I may be wrong, had a good look at the setup & you can set it to duel zone, all the AC+Heater info show on the screen when you press a button or turn nob
 

gazac

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Riverstone
Members Ride
VE SV6
I think this is a fantastic upgrade option, Iv actually gone a step further on this and have been doing my research plus contacting various companies, looks like the unit is available in two different models being low and high end as well as in silver or grey.
Gazoc, I believe the unit you have is the low end model which is primary for the single zone vehicles.
I still have to confirm, but I believe there is a high end model is faster which also the ability to be single zone ect.
Sorry I posted this twice & could not see how to delete it, how do you delete a post anyway?
 
Last edited:

TazzI

Envyous Customs
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
358
Points
83
Location
Western Australia
Website
www.envyouscustoms.com
Members Ride
Holden VE SS Ute
My one is a Platinum Series, Masten-Engineered Pro Sound, 1,000MHz (1GHz) Cortex A8 Samsung Processor, DDR II 512mb RAM
So I don't think it's the low end model, I may be wrong, had a good look at the setup & you can set it to duel zone, all the AC+Heater info show on the screen when you press a button or turn nob
Completely different developer I believe now. So never mind my last comments!!
Also got more clarification on low and high model, the difference is simply whether the vehicles is single or dual zone (essentially).

I have just received images of the unit, it is much different to yours:

 
Last edited:
Top