Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

OTR Cold Air Intake for VF SS - Who's Had Any Issues ?

SneekyNuts

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Emu Heights NSW
Members Ride
VF SS
I went to OZTRACK in Penrith today i'd researched what Intake i wanted and decided on the Orssom version. I had enough loot to buy the induction System (MAF) but not for the tune as ive read you can plug and play with these ones. mafless needs tuning. So i went there and the Sales Lady said that they can risk going into Limp Mode if you dont get it tuned. She was great she stated i could just sell this to you and off you go but we dont operate like this etc which i found to be great and very honest. she stated that they will "All" eventually go into limp mode without the tune. could be tomorrow - next week or in 12 months. ill save more loot and head back there. Has any one else gone Limp ( im talking about the car not your erectile dysfunction ). or have you been Lucky
 

Attachments

Steveaa

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NSW
Members Ride
VF SS
Don't waste your money on a cold air intake unless you're going to tune it. And for the love of god avoid Oztrack (Yes I'm aware there have been good tunes etc come out of there), but there has also been a lot of #### ups and problems.
 

geoffb57

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
central coast
Members Ride
VF 2 SS
I'd listen to OZtrack . They did my intake, tune and catback a couple of weeks ago. Good price,great people and very happy with their work
 

2INIL8

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
151
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
39
Members Ride
VH COMMODORE 308
Got a question does he still tune cars without a wideband meter on road? (not dyno).
 

VFRDLN

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
24
Points
8
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
ZB CalaisV Tourer
Load of crap. I have a Harrop OTR with MAF and it is great. If a code was going to come up it would happen on the first drive. The car is smart enough to adjust to the OTR. If you are going to replace a full exhaust or put a cam in then a tune is a must to get the most power you can.
 

2INIL8

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
151
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
39
Members Ride
VH COMMODORE 308
Don't give out false info. the car does not compensate for an otr.
It can trim to an extent that's it, the fueling is altered via maf tables or virtual ve tables.
Any idea what your afr's are like?
Mine went lean too lean with the vcm otr.
You need a tune otherwise it will throw code and it will throw afr's out maf is even worse.
 

SneekyNuts

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Emu Heights NSW
Members Ride
VF SS
Thanks guys ive never really been a "CAR" guy ive had many VL's a VY and a Lexus SC400 but My VF SS ive fallen in love. my wife hates it which makes me love it more lol.
 

07GTS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
2,094
Reaction score
598
Points
113
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VEGTS BLOWN E85
either maf or mafless really does need a tune to suit, just because a maf is kept dosnt mean it still knows what air is flowing into the engine for a desired situation and in a factory tune the maf is only solely used after about 4000rpm so under that where most of the driving is done u have a blend of maf and map so if the map reading is out because of the intake then it is still going to be incorrect so the fuel trims will be working to correct it, have a tune done corrects the AFR so the less the trims have to work the better the engine will run, not getting a tune wont hurt the engine it just wont be as efficient as if it were tuned to suit, fuel trims only correct a zone of map readings so the average of the STFT changes the LTFT zone to what it will correct too but in that zone u might have 50+ different fuel cells so even if some need less fuel and some need more they all get the same correction for the zone and thats where a tune can be cleaned up so it all works better
 

panhead

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
2,021
Reaction score
1,757
Points
113
Location
NSW Central Coast
Members Ride
Cars
Orssom Website:

CAI Pty Ltd – VE-VF Commodore CAI & Accessories


Fitting Instructions:

http://otrcai.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/VF-V8-Fitting-Inst.jpg


Contact Orssom and ask them if a tune is needed – get the correct info from the horse's mouth:

Contact Us – CAI Pty Ltd


A list of tuners selling the Orssom product:

Where to Buy – CAI Pty Ltd



If it was me and you decide to have the car tuned as well as fitting the OTR then I'd definitely be going to a tuner that has a dyno, don't make your choice just based on someone being the cheapest, make a choice because you feel confidence in their reputation, there are some good ones in that list.
 

2INIL8

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
151
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
39
Members Ride
VH COMMODORE 308
either maf or mafless really does need a tune to suit, just because a maf is kept dosnt mean it still knows what air is flowing into the engine for a desired situation and in a factory tune the maf is only solely used after about 4000rpm so under that where most of the driving is done u have a blend of maf and map so if the map reading is out because of the intake then it is still going to be incorrect so the fuel trims will be working to correct it, have a tune done corrects the AFR so the less the trims have to work the better the engine will run, not getting a tune wont hurt the engine it just wont be as efficient as if it were tuned to suit, fuel trims only correct a zone of map readings so the average of the STFT changes the LTFT zone to what it will correct too but in that zone u might have 50+ different fuel cells so even if some need less fuel and some need more they all get the same correction for the zone and thats where a tune can be cleaned up so it all works better
To give an idea my afrs were low 13s wot(not good -very very lean) stock map and had a bad hesitation around 1800-2000rpm.
Its not only the ve tables its ,a lot of others incl pe and dynamics and quite a few engine management tables.
Even cold start was too lean which I fixed.
Weather change its good the tune copes very well in the hotter weather eg 38 deg and above.
Some tuners pref maf you can do both, personally I prefer sd as its more responsive and fueling is very accurate.
I tuned my VF S1 in sd (mafless) and it drives really well and it will light up 2nd gear wot (auto) and didn't before (stock tune and maf).
Will put it on the mainline dyno soon and run it down at wsid.
Oztrack isn't the only one tuning VF commodores in Penrith so there are other options for those in the area.
https://www.facebook.com/CommodoreV8V6DelcoTuning/?ref=bookmarks
 

2INIL8

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
151
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
39
Members Ride
VH COMMODORE 308
Orssom Website:

CAI Pty Ltd – VE-VF Commodore CAI & Accessories


Fitting Instructions:

http://otrcai.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/VF-V8-Fitting-Inst.jpg


Contact Orssom and ask them if a tune is needed – get the correct info from the horse's mouth:

Contact Us – CAI Pty Ltd


A list of tuners selling the Orssom product:

Where to Buy – CAI Pty Ltd



If it was me and you decide to have the car tuned as well as fitting the OTR then I'd definitely be going to a tuner that has a dyno, don't make your choice just based on someone being the cheapest, make a choice because you feel confidence in their reputation, there are some good ones in that list.
You need both dyno and road imo.
I find you cant tune to some conditions you can on the road.
Nothing wrong with road tuning its actually more realistic as its not controlled conditions
that you have on the dyno.
You have airflow,different temps,varying loads etc.
I dyno tuned a car recently and I spent a couple hours also road tuning
made a big difference in driveability.
Dyno is great for chasing max hp safely but too long they get heat soak bad.
 

2INIL8

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
151
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
39
Members Ride
VH COMMODORE 308
Thanks guys ive never really been a "CAR" guy ive had many VL's a VY and a Lexus SC400 but My VF SS ive fallen in love. my wife hates it which makes me love it more lol.
That's funny I got the opposite issues I fight with my wife over the car we both love driving it which can be a problem lol.
 

Smashfist

Active Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2014
Messages
830
Reaction score
237
Points
43
Age
40
Location
SE QLD
Members Ride
440rwhp Cammed VF Ute
Load of crap. I have a Harrop OTR with MAF and it is great. If a code was going to come up it would happen on the first drive. The car is smart enough to adjust to the OTR. If you are going to replace a full exhaust or put a cam in then a tune is a must to get the most power you can.
Wrong. It WILL cause an error eventually. The ecm compensates as best it can using the short and long term fuel trims, eventually it gets to the edge of adjustability and will set a DTC (usually P0171/P0174 bank1/2 too lean). How long it will take depends on driving style and exhaust mods, but it will happen eventually.
 

07GTS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
2,094
Reaction score
598
Points
113
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VEGTS BLOWN E85
yea ive been tuning mine SD purely on the road with a constant wideband installed, there are alot of areas that are hard to get to without a dyno but it is possible just takes longer and u do find alot of the little drivability issues that u can clean up easily on the road that u might not notice on a dyno only tune so best of both worlds is needed as mentioned, also recommend SD tunes way better fueling control if done properly
 

panhead

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
2,021
Reaction score
1,757
Points
113
Location
NSW Central Coast
Members Ride
Cars
You need both dyno and road imo.
I find you cant tune to some conditions you can on the road.
Nothing wrong with road tuning its actually more realistic as its not controlled conditions
that you have on the dyno.
You have airflow,different temps,varying loads etc.
I dyno tuned a car recently and I spent a couple hours also road tuning
made a big difference in driveability.
Dyno is great for chasing max hp safely but too long they get heat soak bad.
Correctomundo, you definitely need both as it gives the tuner far more stats to work with and helps immensely in getting the tune right for your vehicle.
 

SneekyNuts

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Emu Heights NSW
Members Ride
VF SS
To give an idea my afrs were low 13s wot(not good -very very lean) stock map and had a bad hesitation around 1800-2000rpm.
Its not only the ve tables its ,a lot of others incl pe and dynamics and quite a few engine management tables.
Even cold start was too lean which I fixed.
Weather change its good the tune copes very well in the hotter weather eg 38 deg and above.
Some tuners pref maf you can do both, personally I prefer sd as its more responsive and fueling is very accurate.
I tuned my VF S1 in sd (mafless) and it drives really well and it will light up 2nd gear wot (auto) and didn't before (stock tune and maf).
Will put it on the mainline dyno soon and run it down at wsid.
Oztrack isn't the only one tuning VF commodores in Penrith so there are other options for those in the area.
https://www.facebook.com/CommodoreV8V6DelcoTuning/?ref=bookmarks
Thanks mate the chick there did say he usually can tune it by ear without the Dyno which raised an alarm a little
 

SneekyNuts

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Emu Heights NSW
Members Ride
VF SS
That's funny I got the opposite issues I fight with my wife over the car we both love driving it which can be a problem lol.
Im glad she doesn't want to drive it i just put Black 20's on it and if theres any gutter rash being done id prefer it be me lol
 

PeteSS

Active Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
492
Reaction score
124
Points
43
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VF Series 2 SSV Redline
Thanks mate the chick there did say he usually can tune it by ear without the Dyno which raised an alarm a little

I was told the same. Apparently they've done thousands of these and don't need to put them on the dyno (their words)
 

2INIL8

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
151
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
39
Members Ride
VH COMMODORE 308
Tune by ear lol that's a worry.
The fact your speaking to someone who has no idea is enough imo.
That's one thing I'm trying to find out is he still tuning cars on road without a wideband?
If he isnt how the hell can you log afr's accurately?
I'd be worried if it were my car
I know he didn't use a wideband street tuning years ago.
 
Top