Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Over Clicking Indicator Flasher Relay VTII

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Stretcher Bearer, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. Stretcher Bearer

    Stretcher Bearer A.R.N.G.

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VT2 SOCOG Exec 9C1
    Hi Gang,

    Of late I noticed that when not in use the indicator flasher relay keeps flicking away irregularly. The indicators due not flash when this happens thank God.

    When I use the indicator or the hazards (different circuit I know) the relay works fine. Occasionally get the dull flash on the dash indicator signal, but essentially no dramas.

    Does this sound like the flasher unit or is the indicator stalk a problem? I did have cruise fitted years ago by the dealer.

    Just want to save the outlay if I don't need it or there is a need for a trip to a sparky.
     
  2. HSVEE

    HSVEE New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Members Ride:
    hsv vt
    yeah same prob here can u tell me if u solved it? cheers
     
  3. DanVN

    DanVN Cruizin' in style!

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Western Suburbs, Vic
    Members Ride:
    01 WH Statesman International 5.7L
    New stalk needed mine does the same thing ... common problem :(
     
  4. vlv8vic

    vlv8vic <---Brad Quaid = internet stalker

    Messages:
    3,774
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    M5
    very common issue with VTs. New stalk required. these aren't all that expensive and are fairly easy to change over. If you do a search you might even find a 'how to'. If not follow your nose.
     
  5. NVE_069

    NVE_069 New Member

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    Wh Statesman LS1
    LOL mine does it too. bloody annoying
     
  6. goofball_9996

    goofball_9996 aint got shit to do

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    mandurah
    Members Ride:
    vx s pack
    have you cheaked that you dont have a globe out could be as simple as that
     
  7. SweetWagon

    SweetWagon booosted

    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Location:
    Springwood NSW
    Members Ride:
    VS Berlina Wagon Supercharged
    Don't think it could be a globe ;)
     
  8. 00vxsc

    00vxsc New Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Location:
    qld
    Members Ride:
    VX L67, ln106 hilux, xr600r
    so it was a new stalk?? mine started blinking irregulary as well ( bumps or when i use cruise/blinker??) can someone please confirm that this is the solution
     
  9. stevesvx2001

    stevesvx2001 New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    rowville
    Members Ride:
    vx commodore v6
    ive had the same problem and fixed it, you have to change your indicator relay, the relay is the thing that actully makes the clicking noise take your relay panel off under the steering wheel. turn your indicator on and feel each relays you can actully feel which one it slightly vibrates , its a big black on.
     
  10. Stretcher Bearer

    Stretcher Bearer A.R.N.G.

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VT2 SOCOG Exec 9C1
    Sorry for the late reply Gang,

    Yep it was the indicator Stalk. pretty cheap from Memory brand new ~30 from holden. Mine had the cruise included so that was no extra problem. just follow what you unplugged!

    Easy to change using the just Commodores How to Guide. It's actually harder work to get the steering column shaft off that chage the stalk/relay.
     

Share This Page