Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Overfilled the oil

Discussion in 'General' started by Member 1, Nov 9, 2019.

  1. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    I checked the oil level and it was a bit low under FULL. That was when the car was at operating temperature and I checked it 10 min after I switched off the engine. (now I realise the mistake i made); I topped a bit of oil and immediately checked the dipstick, it didn't appear to have changed much.So I added a bit more and then i realised the mistake i made - I should have waited 10minutes (for the oil to drain) before i check the dipstick again.

    Now the level of the oil is what is shown in the pic here:
    Should I drain some, possibly from the oil filter?
    IMG_3792.JPG
     
  2. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,757
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Looks ok to me, but no info on what car and engine this is?
     
    Member 1 likes this.
  3. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    Thanks :)
    It's a VX commodore
     
  4. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,085
    Likes Received:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Check it again, that looks like a bit strange. How much extra did you pour in?
    Oil should not take ten minutes to run down into the sump. More likely 2 minutes.
     
  5. 1985VK

    1985VK Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    308
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VK SL
    Check both sides of the dipstick to find the real level and not the what the dipstick touched in the tube.
     
    Member 1, VS_Pete and losh1971 like this.
  6. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,757
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Should be no problem on an Eco. It looks to be about 300mls over. Give it some time and with a little of the normal burn, and a leak if you have any, and it will be spot on in three months.
     
  7. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX

    I checked it few times......
    I didn't think I added too much,but again, maybe I did?
    Holden manual says:
    When topping up the engine oil, allow approximately 10 minutes for the oil added to fully drain into the oil pan.
    (bold and underline added)
     
  8. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    Thanks, will check again and report
     
  9. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    Thanks.
     
  10. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    ok, I have checked the oil level again.

    here is the pic
    IMG_3795.JPG
    and I checked the other side of the dipstick, it was corresponding to where you can see the level in the pic.

    I measured with a tape and it was 20mm above the FULL.
    Now the Holden manual states :
    add 50 ml of oil for each millimetre below the “FULL” mark on the dipstick

    and assuming the same scale above FULL, that means that I have 1,000ml more than FULL.
    What do you think guys?
     
  11. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,414
    Likes Received:
    2,379
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    I like that. Problem with that is when the engine is running the oil isn't at the same level as when it has been sitting for 10 minutes. In my eyes, oil level during engine operation is critical, what it does when sitting still is secondary (just like checking the transmission). Check the oil level straight after you turn the engine off gives a good indication of running oil level.

    On an ecotec what you have on the dipstick is fine. I believe the manual says 4.2 litres (can't remember if that is with or without filter). When I do an oil change on ours it gets almost 5 litres and I have no issue with aeration of the oil and I also happen to know a bloke who actually measured the volume of the ecotec sump (with it off the engine) and it will take about 5 litres of oil without coming over the baffle plate inside the sump so no issue with the oil getting into the crank and causing trouble.
     
  12. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    Totally agree with you.
    Now, would Holden have factored in the oil level 10 minutes after the engine reached its operating temperature?
    who knows?
     
  13. Member 1

    Member 1 Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VX
    The service book says 4.8Litre approximate with filter.
    Now, I use a larger filter than holden's. I use K&N HP-2001 which has more capacity.
     

Share This Page