Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

P plate help and mods

Discussion in 'VL Holden Commodore (1986 - 1988)' started by Nick Fassoulis, Mar 12, 2019.

1. Nick Fassoulis

Nick Fassoulis New Member

Members Ride:
    VL Calais Turbo
    Hey guys! I'm new to this whole website and these posts if I'm doing something wrong just tell me! I've got a original VL turbo Calais. The car is a rolling shell at the moment as I have taken the turbo engine out to do a full respray. I just bought a RB30E engine which is currently sitting in my garage. I love learning and working, I want to do a fair bit of the general stuff to the 6 cylinder engine before it goes back in.
    I bought the 6 cylinder as I want to drive it on my p plates and properly build up my other turbo engine.
    If anyone could help me with some general mods that are p plate legal or mods that aren't 'legal' but I could get away with please help!
    Also what are some general servicing things I can do to the engine while its out.
    Thanks in advance

2. losh1971

losh1971 Well-Known Member

Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Save your money until you're off your P's. In the meantime sort out the suspension and steering and replace any worn components.

vs-lover likes this.
  3. Calaber

Calaber Nil Bastardo Carborundum

Members Ride:
    CG Captiva 5 Series 2
    No responsible member of this forum will help you carry out P plater illegal modifications. As already suggested, focus on getting the things right that really matter. Suspension, brakes and steering. Not exciting but really important, especially for a novice driver.

4. Zachariah

Zachariah Member

Members Ride:
    VZ Thunder Ute