Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

P plate help and mods

Nick Fassoulis

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL Calais Turbo
Hey guys! I'm new to this whole website and these posts if I'm doing something wrong just tell me! I've got a original VL turbo Calais. The car is a rolling shell at the moment as I have taken the turbo engine out to do a full respray. I just bought a RB30E engine which is currently sitting in my garage. I love learning and working, I want to do a fair bit of the general stuff to the 6 cylinder engine before it goes back in.
I bought the 6 cylinder as I want to drive it on my p plates and properly build up my other turbo engine.
If anyone could help me with some general mods that are p plate legal or mods that aren't 'legal' but I could get away with please help!
Also what are some general servicing things I can do to the engine while its out.
Thanks in advance

losh1971

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Series I SS Ute
Save your money until you're off your P's. In the meantime sort out the suspension and steering and replace any worn components.

Calaber

Nil Bastardo Carborundum
Reaction score
Members Ride
CG Captiva 5 Series 2
No responsible member of this forum will help you carry out P plater illegal modifications. As already suggested, focus on getting the things right that really matter. Suspension, brakes and steering. Not exciting but really important, especially for a novice driver.

Zachariah

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Thunder Ute, MKII LV XR5 TURBO