Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

P-Plate legal (performance) Mods to 86 VL

snowybill

Reaction score
Members Ride
2005 VZ SV6
hey guys, ive not long owned my pretty stockage VL.

the only performance wise upgrades im aware of are 2.5" straight thru with extractors, and a custom aftermarket chip. (it also has wider than average tyres, the guy that owned it used to do hillclimbing in it)

I'm just wondering what kind of mods you would suggest, but keep in mind, for me (for the next...nearly 3 years) turbo and supercharging is not legal :(

I'm looking at maybe 3 grand for mods, please any suggestions will be greatly accepted.
Also i'm a bit new to car mods, so if you get too technical, please explain haha :)

cheers,
snowy.

VryNeat

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL EXEC
where r u from because i believe over east its illegal to have ANY performance mods

calais24/7

Mucca Mad Boys
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Calais II 5L, 98 rodeo v6
Should also check with the authority for example pod filters are differant in each state some allow them aslong as they have a cover/heat shield and some dont, so just verify with them before you do any major mods becuase at the end of the day they will be the ones giving you a ticket, defecting and not passing your car for roadworthys so just maybe give them a call or drop in?
cheers

snowybill

Reaction score
Members Ride
2005 VZ SV6
hey guys, well ive had my car passed already for rego with the current mods it has.
I also forgot to mention the 4.11 LSD in it, rather than the standard 3.45 i think it is? can anyone tel me how this might be an advantage/disadvantage ?
And as i am on my Red P's, i can't drive any V8's, supercharger, or turbo cars. I live just outside of canberra, and my licence is in NSW.

Cobez

LS-EXUAL
Reaction score
Members Ride