Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

PCV Valve on an Alloytec

SammyD

Reaction score
Members Ride
2010 VE SSV Sedan
Hi,
I've had my VZ Berlina for about 3 weeks now and so far I'm pretty happy with it except for a couple of niggles (even worse because I'm a qualified mechanic)

First one is a lot of whine in first from the 4 speed auto although I'll live with this as it's done 87,000km and it's just wear in the gear set. I'm going to get the trans serviced soon anyway as I think the service intervals on the trans and spark plugs are a crock. I pulled out the 2 plugs I could get to without taking the plenum off (a $100 gasket?!?!) and they have a lot bigger gap than 1.1mm and the earth electrode looks like it's been bent towards the centre.

The second problem and more annoying because I'm convinced it's an easy fix is that when the car is cold, there is a pulsing induction noise that sounds very plasticky (is that a word?) As the car warms up, the noise reduces in volume. If the car is left for a while once it is warm and then re-started, the noise is even quieter (I believe from heat transfer going from the engine to a plastic part). I removed the engine covers and drove the car today and the noise was not as loud as normal, possibly because the covers actually channel the noise towards the firewall. The noise changes with the rpm of the motor and is easiest heard at about 33-50% throttle but it is at a much lower rate than the engine speed. I'd say that it pulses at about 2 or 3 times a second up to 4 or 5 times a second depending on the rpm.

If anyone knows where the pcv valve is on the 175 (the pipe i found doesn't have a valve in it and feeds from the lh roccker cover to the intake) or has any suggestions, I'd be most grateful.