Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

power windows on one side not working?

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by gazzabrizz, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. gazzabrizz

    gazzabrizz New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT HSV
    power windows vt clubsport passenger side not working .
    just wondering what is normally the fault of this . is it normally the main switches in centre console . and is it easy to remove and replace.
     
  2. don0xer

    don0xer Member

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Members Ride:
    2000 VX Calais 3.8L Supercharged
    I just replaced my LHR window motor, traced the problem back to the motor not working. Cost $75 for a new motor, and $25 for a switch which was also broken too :(

    Getting the motor out will take u approx 10-15 mins, theyre rivvetted in pretty tight. Just watch out if u put a new motor in... mine vibrated against the door chassis- just put a put of fabric there to stop it.
     
  3. WinterVX

    WinterVX Member

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    N/A
    Try replacing the switch 1st and see how you go, im going to have to replace mine soon enough, the left hand passenger side
    is a bit tempremental at times. Me thinks the connections are a bit stuffed, but it still works for now :)
     
  4. VTW@G0n

    VTW@G0n New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    Mid North Coast
    Members Ride:
    VT WAGON 3.8L N/A
    Gday all
    i have a VT Exec II with full electrics.
    My drivers window was very tempremental. It would normally go down perfect, but sometimes it wouldn't come up at all and other times if i held the button up and jiggled it it would work.
    Popped out the switch box from the dash , pulled that apart and WD40 the switces to get some crud out, metho on cotton tips to clean the contact points, and while i had it apart i popped the switched apart and greased the switch pivot point (to make it pivot up/down).
    Tested before clicking it back into dash to make sure it worked - sweet as.
    Try this before buying new switches or motors.

    Cheers.
     
  5. vxexec350

    vxexec350 Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide Northern Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    VZ SS Thunder/VX Exec LS1/VN Berlina 5.0
    Yep good advise. I actually replaced the console switches on mine and then found how easy servicing them is. My old ones are now in my sons VT as his were trashed by a dog. All the switces for power windows in VT/VX/VU are as easy to service. DO that B4 spending money
     
  6. randomroen

    randomroen New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Location:
    Canning Vale, W.A
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S2
    Does that mean the "power windows" dont work on the front and rear passenger side? Or just the front?

    Try swapping the switch with another one and see how you go. Failing that, remove the door trim and check the voltage motor while operating the switch. If voltage IS reaching the motor then the motor might be stuffed, or moving parts might be caught or need lubricating.

    If there is NO voltage at the motor check the relay for earthing, and that there's voltage reaching the relay when the switch is operated, etc..
     
  7. gazzabrizz

    gazzabrizz New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT HSV
    is it fairly easy to get the main centre console switches out . dont want to break anything . any advice would be great before tackling this . will try clean of contacts
    .
     
  8. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    You just prise the switches out of the console with a screwdriver wrapped in cloth so you don't scratch anything.
     
  9. gazzabrizz

    gazzabrizz New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT HSV
    yes got main swiches out. do i need to get inner case where cicuitboard is out to clean switch contacts and to change over swithches to check if thats problem . a little scared of breaking something
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2006

Share This Page