Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Pre VE 6 Auto Project

caeo

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
35
Points
18
Age
20
Location
Pakenham, Victoria 3810
Members Ride
VZ Ute S (6 AUTO PROJECT)
Yes l'm using pcs 2650 to interface.

It takes your tps & rpm signals, then tells the tcm what to do.
I did look into those, but the PCS is expensive, plus I wanted to be able to tune my own software without paying for HPTuners and a cable.

This has cost me $1100-$1200 in total so far including wasted resources for R&D. Also still have half a kilometer of cable I'm not using :^
 

caeo

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
35
Points
18
Age
20
Location
Pakenham, Victoria 3810
Members Ride
VZ Ute S (6 AUTO PROJECT)
I had an adaptor plate made.
What thickness are you running on the adapter plate? One of my mates is a metal fab, but I have to supply the design.
 

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
1,772
Reaction score
563
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
What thickness are you running on the adapter plate? One of my mates is a metal fab, but I have to supply the design.
45 mm. I had to also had a torque convertor made, to make up the extra distance.

With the pcs 2650, l en't had a tune done.
But l put in a manual mace memcal. So as the pcm doesn't go looking for a tranny.

The ecotec uses ALDL. Alloytec uses obd11.

Pcs might be expensive,but it will work out of the box ( but you will have to set it up, but that is not hard).

Anyway good luck.
 

_R_J_K_

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
5,063
Reaction score
665
Points
113
Members Ride
Zenki S14
Watching this with anticipation. Always keen to see people nut stuff out.

Some people are wanting these for some Ecotecs.
Do you post on another group/site?
 

caeo

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
35
Points
18
Age
20
Location
Pakenham, Victoria 3810
Members Ride
VZ Ute S (6 AUTO PROJECT)
45 mm. I had to also had a torque convertor made, to make up the extra distance.

With the pcs 2650, l en't had a tune done.
But l put in a manual mace memcal. So as the pcm doesn't go looking for a tranny.

The ecotec uses ALDL. Alloytec uses obd11.

Pcs might be expensive,but it will work out of the box ( but you will have to set it up, but that is not hard).

Anyway good luck.
I've seen some people quote 16mm and I was a bit skeptical.

I didn't need a memcal. This works without modifying any of the car's stock computers. Yeah, I just found PCS wasn't what I wanted. This project has been an immense amount of fun and I got to combine my skills. If people want, this can be provided as a cheaper, complete, out of the box solution too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lex

caeo

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
35
Points
18
Age
20
Location
Pakenham, Victoria 3810
Members Ride
VZ Ute S (6 AUTO PROJECT)
Watching this with anticipation. Always keen to see people nut stuff out.



Do you post on another group/site?
Thanks man. I'll keep updating this thread.

I posted it to my personal FB feed and to VZ groups on FB.
 

caeo

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
35
Points
18
Age
20
Location
Pakenham, Victoria 3810
Members Ride
VZ Ute S (6 AUTO PROJECT)
Development is going to be halted until the end of the metropolitan Victorian lockdown. I'm unsure of the operations of my supply chains and my tools are currently out of my physical reach. I cannot develop my software effectively without a working board.
 

Sandman

Challenge Accepted
Joined
Apr 8, 2013
Messages
1,293
Reaction score
366
Points
83
Age
25
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
HQ VC VZ
Saw this on facebook the other weeks, nice going so far. This sort of thing may also be useful to people doing LS conversions in older vehicles too as many use VT-Z setups and are then limited to 4L60e's too.
 
Top