Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Problems with the manual gearboxes in the VE Commodores

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by Miss 12TAME, Feb 21, 2012.

  1. Miss 12TAME

    Miss 12TAME New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Hervey Bay
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Commodore
    hey,

    I have a ve manual sv6 and i keep having problems with the gears.. I have troubles getting it into 2nd gear (1st into 2nd and 3rd into 2nd). I've had it into holden on numerous times and they keep saying the computer says nothing is wrong and i keep telling them it doesn't happen all the time.. it happens randomly.. So I'm wondering if anyone else out there who has a ve manual is having the same problems?
     
  2. VTPREDATOR

    VTPREDATOR New Member

    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    Warwick
    Members Ride:
    VE SS SPORTSWAGON
    hows an issue with the manual box gears supposed to show up on the computer? just curious....
     
  3. Miss 12TAME

    Miss 12TAME New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Hervey Bay
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Commodore
    i know right.. they keep telling me they can't fault the problem cos the computer says its fine
     
  4. TinSnips

    TinSnips Polish all the things...

    Messages:
    4,865
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Hills District, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Ute
    I realise mine is a different box (T56 vs the Aisin unit in the V6s) but my gearbox(es) kept chewing synchros, giving me the symptoms you're talking about. My understanding is that dealerships do not open up the gearboxes when there is an issue under warranty, they send it back and fit you with a new one (takes about a week normally to get the box in - I'm on my 5th and this one has lasted me longer than the others, so fingers crossed). A fault like that won't show up on the tech 2 - my suggestion is to take to another dealership and see if they will (a) give you the time of day and (b) see if they can replicate the issue. Also, take a tech, or preferably the foreman, for a drive and show them what's happening. But it would be a good idea to try and suss out exactly what situations cause the box to stick (ie does it happen cold, at running temp, stop-start driving, harder acceleration, etc). That will give you your best chance at being able to replicate the issue for the service team. Also, if you need a decent stretch of road for the issue to raise it's head, do a bit of research and find the appropriate road near the dealership BEFORE taking the car in. The more assertive (not aggressive) that you come across, the more likely they are to take notice.

    Did the dealership you've been taking it to even drive it or just plug the tech 2 in? I understand that they will have difficulty diagnosing anything if they can't replicate the issue, but locking out of gears on the V8 models is quite common - haven't heard so many issues happening with the Aisin box though.
     
  5. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    446
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 6.0 470rwhp
    LOL @ Computer not having any codes. That right there is a good reason to take it to another dealer.

    Is it under warranty? How many kilometers has it done?
     
  6. hardcore90

    hardcore90 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    VE2 SV6 Manual
    How many km's has your car done. I had a similar issue with mine for the first 1000km. I'm now at 1700km and it feels like it is getting better. Could possibly be due to me getting used to driving a manual again.
     
  7. Customcreations

    Customcreations PORTED GETS IT SORTED

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Location:
    Cessnock Australia
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore V6 EcoTech Custom Ported by me
    I'd recomend sticking a tube of PTFE treatment in it. ( NULON geabox, diff and transmission treatment. I bet it would make a huge difference
    Only cost you 16 bucks for a 125ml tube. or around 25 bucks for a 250ml tube
     
  8. Johnjoe

    Johnjoe New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    Nsw
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    I think it's just the way it's made, Mine is like that, if your at the right speed it goes into second alot easier, same as when your changing back down. It's worse trying to stick it into first if your going too fast, like if it's a safety feature for people accidentally putting it into first at high speeds.

    For example if I'm 50 meters from my driveway and in 3rd I just put the clutch in but it's near impossible to put into first until you get down to a low speed. Even though I'm not going to let the clutch out and rev the crap out of it
     
  9. Customcreations

    Customcreations PORTED GETS IT SORTED

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Location:
    Cessnock Australia
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore V6 EcoTech Custom Ported by me
    REALLY, PTFE treatment. Try it.
    If you ignore this then I'l keep reminding you till you do.:)
    I'm curious to see the Synchro's from one.

    I've just rebuilt the T5 for my Auto to manual conversion and the T5 uses brass Synchro's only on the tapered cone side instead of them being brass they have the fibre layer jike you would find on a wet clutch, auto trans.
    Gm service manual makes it clear to use ATF fluid and not geabox oil but it must have the PTFE / then called LUBRIZOL additive.
    I haven't seen inside the T56 but I cant imagine they would "re-invent the wheel"
    Even if they are now using a gear oil then still I would put the treatment in.
    I added the treatment and fluid to the T5 before putting it in the car As I have a spare yolk to plug the tail shaft seal.
    Before the treatment it was quite sticky and hard to change. I added the treatment and used a drill to turn the gearbox shaft and take it through the gears for a good mix in time and could now change without the force it took
    prior. + reverse became acheivable at first try.
    (this was without the gear stick bolted to it) with bench testing.
    All and any gear tooth noise and bearing noise completely vanish.
    (not that the bearings were bad, they just got even better.)
     
  10. Johnjoe

    Johnjoe New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    Nsw
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    Where do you get it from? I'll try it. Something else I can stuff around with on the car lol
     
  11. Customcreations

    Customcreations PORTED GETS IT SORTED

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Location:
    Cessnock Australia
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore V6 EcoTech Custom Ported by me
    It should be at any car spares store. NULON G70 MANUAL GEARBOX&DIFF TREATMENT.
    Read the fine print and they say good for auto trans/ or when using trans fluid!
    and also safe for LSD diffs. It would eliminate any of the friction in the diff to.
    Obviously diffs have gear oil in them to lube but this stuff blends in with it real nice.
    I tried a drop of this with a teaspoon ful amount of grease to add to the gears in a reduction drive starter motor. Before and after difference is amazing.
    Runs smooth as silk on a bench test too. Better than a new one from the box.

    By the way there's no profit in it for me. (no commision :( )
    I'm just trying to help out. So the proof is in the pudding as they say. Its a cheap test that cant hurt!
     
  12. Johnjoe

    Johnjoe New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    Nsw
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    So is this for only automatic transmission ? Not manual ?
     
  13. Customcreations

    Customcreations PORTED GETS IT SORTED

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Location:
    Cessnock Australia
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore V6 EcoTech Custom Ported by me
    Both any and all and diff.
    I'm coming up with extra usages for it all the time. But as I texted above. "NULON G70 GEARBOX& DIFF TREATMENT" is on the tube you buy
    with more info in small writing. Manual gearbox, auto transmission, differencial, anything with gears, bearings, wet clutches, moving parts that have to put up with metel to metal contact and friction that you dont want.
    I can take a PIC of the tube I have in front of me if you want. Is there any rules against doing that? (wouldn't want to let people think I was adv. it)
    It's only to help you out. :)
     
  14. mad macks

    mad macks New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Ute S2
    Miss12TAME,
    i have a series 2 SV6 ute and was having problems some times crunching the gears.
    I decided to replace/bleed the clutch hydraulic system and when bleeding the clutch slave cylinder a lot of air bubbles came out (i:e , there was air in the system)
    After doing this the clutch now disengages higher up in the pedal stroke ( clutch operating as it should)
    It now changes gears with the best of them (Jap cars)
    It should do, its a Japanese made gearbox they use in Lexus
     
  15. Fekason

    Fekason Fekason

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith NSW
    Members Ride:
    2013 MY12.5 SV6Z + 2016 MY16 SV6, both manuals
    Comment moved to correct thread. Apologies.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  16. Johnjoe

    Johnjoe New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    Nsw
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    That's alright I can probably find it, don't want you getting in trouble for putting pictures up ha ha.

    So where does it go? Straight into gear box? Less is better ?
     
  17. mooks6669

    mooks6669 Member

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF II MY17 SS Manual
    had exactly the same prob when I had an Omega manual years ago. Same rubbery box. V8 box is much better. Unfortunately not much you can do
     
  18. Customcreations

    Customcreations PORTED GETS IT SORTED

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Location:
    Cessnock Australia
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore V6 EcoTech Custom Ported by me
    YEP, additive goes straight into gearbox. take out the side plug and fill.
    If thats a pest to get to for you.
    take off the gearstick selector. and pour in through there. then put the selector back on. Be hard to drive without it :)
    Take for a spin and do it after the car has been warmed up.
     
  19. Johnjoe

    Johnjoe New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    Nsw
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    Would it be better to open up the gearbox and put it right on in there? Or will it flow through everything anyway, is that nulon stuff a paste or liquid ? I'll try it today
     
  20. Customcreations

    Customcreations PORTED GETS IT SORTED

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Location:
    Cessnock Australia
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore V6 EcoTech Custom Ported by me
    Its a liquid. The thickness of engine oil.
    I use a small bottle and mix it with the oil that I'm going to put in.
    You may need to drain off some of the gear oil in there. If the oil comes out red its trans fluid.
    Again I haven't done a T56. I'd be surprised if it had gear oil instead of trans fluid. (I will make it clear that I know it is a manual gearbox)
    Would pay to check up what's used for the T56 from the service manual. The oil will make all the difference too if they have put the wrong stuff in.
    I know it should be right if it's done by the dealer BUT, is it a qualified mechanic working on the car when its serviced or an apprentice?
    However if your gonna take it for a spin straight up it would be fine to squeeze the tube straight in.
     

Share This Page