Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Question about buying VS UTE for first car

JAKE-26

Reaction score
Members Ride
'97 VT Exec
Hey guys, I'm new to this but i'l give it a shot.

Im 17 and soon wanting to buy a vs ute. ive seen alot with like 180,000ks.
I know it seems like a fair amount, but ive also some with 250000-300,000+ around, which i think means they can last. :hmmm:

so my question is, for this type of car is buying one with around 170,000 k's gonna be ok still?
im in melbourne, VIC and will hopefully spend around $8k.

Cheers guys.

VS-S-PACK-UTE

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Commodore Ute
hey mate, 170000 k's is a low number for most vs utes, i bought mine with 203000 and it still goes really nice, however i have had to replace engine mounts,sway bar bushes and panhard rod bushes. thats all that the car required to handle nicely, have since spent a few dollars buyin performance upgrades for it and for about 1500 u can make the car hammer :) u cant go wrong with vs utes mate, lower k's means jack **** however, its how its been looked after for them k's that counts.

VSCristian

Reaction score
Members Ride
1991 VP Commodore Executive V8 A4
8k is really pricy, but then again utes keep their value better than sedans.. if looked after they'll go for 400,000kms and then some!

personally, i'd get a 4-5k sedan, and put the rest of the $into exhaust, tranny, engine, intake etc.

lol, with 3-4k to play with ud get around 140-150rwkw... or more if you're lucky

VSCristian

Reaction score
Members Ride
1991 VP Commodore Executive V8 A4
i bought my VS with 211 on clock, now on 287 and running like a dream... better actually because of intake, exhaust and other goodies

JAKE-26

Reaction score
Members Ride
'97 VT Exec
Cheers guys,