Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Question RE: About to buy VE Calais 6.0L Wagon

ayalokin

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SS Commodore
Hi all,

First time poster so please excuse if not asking in the appropriate section or if there are existing threads relating to my questions.

As the title indicates I am interested in purchasing a 2010 VE Calais 6.0L Wagon with 270,xxxkm on the odo - The vehicle has a good service history and appears to be in immaculate condition inside and out.

I have no experience with Holden's and my first car was a lemon which I recently received a partial refund for (Ford Focus 2011).

My understanding is v8 engines if maintained well should have a decent lifespan. I am aware the VE has a poor reputation particularly in the V6 variants (SIDI) timing chain issues etc. I can't seem to find any major issues online with the V8's apart from electronic/cosmetic related complaints.

I don't know what the vehicle I'm considering buying was previously used for but I'd guess the high KM's are probably from highway driving.

Are there any major issues I should be aware of with the car? (or have they all been ironed out with recalls?) What possible repairs could I expect at this point and costs associated? Any advice would be appreciated. Should I find something with less on the odo? (how much more life could I get out of the car roughly?)

The asking price is $10,000 with RWC supplied or $9,000 without. It has a full xforce exhaust system and OTR included.

I need the vehicle to last me another 3-5yrs.

Brettly-2008

Reaction score
Members Ride
SS Commodore - Ford Territory ... both camps
I'm confused, you have "no experience with Holdens" but you have VE SS in your Members Ride section?