Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

RB30 Swap from auto to manual VL

Discussion in 'VL Holden Commodore (1986 - 1988)' started by Philip87VL, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. Philip87VL

    Philip87VL New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    87 VL RB30
    Stuck in a ditch..
    Just swapped over a Rb30 engine that came from an auto to my manual... changed spigot bush and flywheel over...everything in as normal and it won’t turn over( lights come on and then brake light comes when key is in crank position), it comes on as if it thinks it’s a still an auto that’s in park??? Tried jumping the starter and whinning noise like it’s spinning but not engaging. Could there be some kind of sensor that needs to come off.. I’m kind of a newbie so any help would be much appreciated..
     
  2. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,765
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    Did you bridge the park/neutral safety switch?
     
  3. Lacksballs

    Lacksballs Active Member

    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VK Group C Replica
    Correct transmission inhibitor switch requires bridging. In an auto car it stops the car been able to be started in gear, so find the switch and bridge/connect the 2 wires together ... Not sure where they are on a VL but VK they are in the shifter assembly in the centre console.
     
  4. Philip87VL

    Philip87VL New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    87 VL RB30
    Is that located on the engine? Not yet I haven’t
     
  5. Philip87VL

    Philip87VL New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    87 VL RB30
    Ah, I have only changed the engine over not the transmission the engine came off a automatic VL..
     
  6. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,765
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    You didn't swap the loom did you? Swapped flywheel yeah? Sounds obvious but just covering bases.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2018
  7. Philip87VL

    Philip87VL New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    87 VL RB30
    Spot on.. I noticed a wire in a 4 point clip that obviously had been bridged before... one end had popped out... plugged it back in and she fired up without a beat.. obviously must’ve had an auto motor originally
     
  8. Philip87VL

    Philip87VL New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    87 VL RB30
    No mate kept original loom in
     
  9. Philip87VL

    Philip87VL New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    87 VL RB30
    As mentioned above.. there was a bridged wire that had popped one end out plugged it in and she cranked over without a beat.. the only issue I have now is that the gearbox before I replaced the motor was popping out of reverse while making a terrible clunking noise.. now it won’t go into reverse and it is making a knocking noise while idling in nuetral and goes away 2 seconds after pushing in the clutch.. Any ideas? Cheers
     

Share This Page