Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Re-Programming VT Commodore Key

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by liam_p, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. styly

    styly New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    sydney
    Members Ride:
    1998 Holden Commodore VT Executive Sedan
    Anyone with a brain won't be scared of clicking on any item of taoboa lol there is no Virus etc.. ha ha ha nothing at all, your matter if you are to scared and believe everything you read, i bought many different stuff on taoboa and never had any trouble so stop your stupid comment man.

    Concerning your second stupid comment saying $15 scantool without any english on the page etc...
    OF course it's a chinese ebay you think they care of saying anything about english... It comes with english menu they are the same guys making your **** computer or mac and everything else, everything is made in China, welcome to the reality man.

    Now if you want to use locksmith and pay $300 it's your matter with this Dodgy 3rd party thing like you are saying, you can do it yourself.
    What do you think locksmith is using, THE SAME devices lol

    Next time don't even waste time commenting anything if you are that stupid


     
  2. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore
    And it takes you a few posts after pasting dodgy looking links getting all defensive and abusive to finally come out with an explanation... I think you are the stupid one if you can't even edit a pasted link.
    Not everything is coming out of china idiot, there are still other countries making better products.
    $300 at a locksmith? If you paid that you're sillier than I first thought.
     
  3. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,961
    Likes Received:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    That's one aggressive newcomer right there.
     
  4. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore
    Hrm, I always thought chinese ebay was www.ebay.cn
    don't see a .cn in your links
     
  5. styly

    styly New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    sydney
    Members Ride:
    1998 Holden Commodore VT Executive Sedan
    The Chinese ebay is a metaphor, come on guys stop been idiots here.
     
  6. Joelene

    Joelene Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    VT Commodore Remote Key

    REPLY

    I am pretty sure this doesn't work.

    Firstly the VT Remote key is solidly glued and does not clip apart like the later VE Remote. The VE Remote DOES clip apart and also you can replace the battery easily as it is not spot welded in. Both take the commonly sourced 2032 button battery.

    I have cut a solidly glued VT remote open though and it is almost impossible not to damage the printed board assembly or the buttons when doing so. If you do cut it open you need to ensure you only insert a Stanley blade about the depth of the key ring slot all round. Do not insert it past the depth of the buttons!

    The battery is spot welded so the contacts need to be broken off. Again fitting a new battery will need some careful soldering. I haven't tried this so not sure if the code remains within the PCB when removing the old battery. I assume it does as the VE DOES so there is probably some EPROM there.

    Then you can superglue the two halves back together or source a new remote shell from somewhere on the internet.

    The car also DOES NOT charge the battery. It is a standard PRIMARY button battery used in all sorts of devices like alarm clocks, toys, etc. PRIMARY means it cannot be charged. The battery should last about 10 years. Mine lasted 14.

    If you buy a new VT- VZ remote key it MUST be programmed first. The car DOES NOT program the key. The car merely verifies the key for the immobilser. The only place that can program a new key is your Holden dealer or a locksmith who sells you the remote. They have an encoder. You must supply your old remote key and it will or should have sufficient power left in the battery for them to extract the code into their encoder then re-program the new remote key BEFORE it is put into the ignition.

    Once programmed the new remote needs to be inserted into the ignition and a test performed whilst the engine is running whilst cycling through each button in turn so that the new code is accepted. So this is the only "programming" the car does and it is a verification rather than a programming of the key.

    The VT-VX is the same programming whilst the VZ even though it looks like the same key is a different program. The VZ being "half a VT-VX range and half a VE range, ie looks like a VT-VX shape but has the engine and other features of the VE, the remote has more programming.

    The VZ key needs to be programmed 1,2,3 for 3 remotes or more. This then enables the key to be customised depending who drives the car. Like the radio buttons and headlight illumination might suit one driver but not the other so each key will operate differently in the car.

    My pricing has produced the following; Holden dealers tend to charge around $180. I think this is largely because they call the local locksmith who charges them then they just add a margin.

    Mr Minit is anywhere between $120 and $160 depending what the franchise is. If they are in a big complex they will have higher rent....

    Local locksmiths however will supply the genuine remote anywhere from $100 upwards, program it then test it and verify it in your car with the engine running to ensure that the code is accepted. There is no cheap solution!
     
  7. Joelene

    Joelene Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    Hope this was helpful!
     
  8. Brett_jjj

    Brett_jjj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    You say that your pretty sure that the instructions in the above post dont work, but it actually does work with VR through to VY keyfobs. They never lose their memory once theyre programmed (unless the board inside the fob gets damaged), the battery is only used for the remote feature, so you can pull them apart and fit a new battery and they'll go for another 10 years.. Don't know anything about the VE keys though.
     
  9. Joelene

    Joelene Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    REPLY
    Yep, in the context of the original post you are probably correct. I however took it that the post was about re-programming a key when in fact no key can be "re-programmed" in this fashion.

    The post refers to simply replacing the shell and battery on an exisiting remote which is already "programmed".

    The procedure described merely verifies the key in the ignition that is already programmed. It is not "re- programmed"

    I was referring to buying a new remote and trying this procedure. It won't work. The locksmiths I spoke to and also friend, service manager at Holden said "the keys are not programmed by the car" the key has to be programmed first by an encoder by first taking the code from the original key then transferring it to the new unprogrammed key, then inserting it into the ignition, the engine run above 2500 rpm for more than 30 seconds whilst each button is verified. The code is then verified and the new key is accepted.

    The code also does not last forever. But most likely being EPROM (Erasable, Programmable, Read Only Memory) it must have a power source to retain memory. In this case the power required is so small that the power left in the battery even though insufficient to open a door will certainly be enough to provide and retain the code for a while but eventually it will die and the code with it.

    The PCB will also have some capacitance which in itself is like another miniature battery and is a small charge that keeps the code there when the battery is removed. It will however be exhausted in maybe minutes or hours and the code will be lost forever.

    It will then require a visit to the Holden dealer to get the the info from the car computer.

    I think however that if you do just change the shells and the battery no verification should even be required. It should just work as the code has not been changed.

    I also wanted to reiterate that VT remotes don't simply prise apart with a blade. They are moulded and need to be cut open unlike the later VEs which do pop open with a blade and the battery (the same type) is fully replaceable.
     
  10. Brett_jjj

    Brett_jjj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    I buy brand new genuine blank keyfobs from ebay and I program them myself with my tech 1 or tech 2 scantool.. I also do this service for free for any JC member in my area that owns a commodore, they just gotta supply the new blank key and security code..(I get them to enter their own security code themselves so I dont see it).. I use the Tech1 for my VS and Tech2 for my VY. These are the exact same scantools that holden dealers use and program keys with. Basically you just put a new blank keyfob in the ignition, enter the vehicles security code into the scantool, and it programmes the new blank keyfob to the vehicle. No encoder needed or transferring of codes or starting the engine and running it etc etc, although yes, they can also be programmed by transferring the code as well, but you need a working keyfob to copy the info from in the first place, so thats no good if you've lost your keys or if the board or chip is damaged...
    As for them losing their programming, Ive got 3 old keys here Ive had for over 5 years that ive removed the batteries from, and they all still disarm the immobiliser and allow the vehicle to start, so no, they don't lose their programming unless the chip or board gets wet or otherwise damaged..
    Ive also replaced the batteries in them before, 30 seconds with a soldering iron and its done..
    On a different note, any JC member in my area can contact me and get free scantool diags done with tech1 and tech2.. Gotta love these people who buy a cheap $300 tech2 kit and want to charge everyone a fortune for a diagnostic check or some other simple task.. They must think theyre a holden dealership..(cant stand greedy people)
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014
  11. kais3r

    kais3r New Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Location:
    Qld
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    Yep, I just used needle nose pliers to roll the spot welded contacts off the battery, then straighten them out a little and put the new battery in, ensuring there's some waviness in the contacts so when the new shell goes around it that it forces the contacts onto the battery, screw it shut, takes less than a minute of no power to the key to get it done and mine fully worked afterwards, hasn't failed me after many years so far, don't know if leaving it longer without power matters but less than a minute didn't affect it, next time it's a $2 job, just a battery.
     
  12. Joelene

    Joelene Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore

    REPLY
    OK, learning all the way. Thanks for that.
    Went via a reputable Locksmith who insisted today that these remotes aren't able to be opened. How do you open them? I used a blade and it was tough work. They don't seem to pop open and it definitely had a moulded seal all round. What location are you? (Melb metro)
     
  13. Brett_jjj

    Brett_jjj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    They don't just "come open easily ", they are not even meant to be opened, theyre only for single use and are supposed to be replaced once the battery is flat or theyre worn out or whatever. But because of the cost of new fobs plus programming, a lot of people just break them open, replace the flat battery and glue them back together again, which works fine and saves cash......
     
  14. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    I found the best choice here was to pry the buggers open, and replace the now "slightly damaged" ouside casing with a cheapo $4 case on fleabay. You can even replace the rubber buttons as the same time while your there for a brand new key feel. I personally have done this on my spare key and a mates.

    Im seeing more and more people grabbing old keys , replacing its data storage and then reprogramming the key. Simply to reduce costs and also to resell the keys as "new" with new case and buttons.

    Those wonder how ebay sellers sell keys for "30-40" each, its because they are not new. They are refurbished second hand keys with new cases and buttons. Even aliexpress doesnt wholesale our keys below $40 each!.
     
  15. Brett_jjj

    Brett_jjj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
    Genuine Commodore VR VS VT VX VY VZ 3 Button Remote KEY | eBay
    Yeah, I only buy these genuine ones sealed in bags from holden, mostly they cost around $50 to $60 with free shipping, but they are sometimes on there for $40 to $50 on special.. I haven't ran across any refurbished ones that are sealed in the bags, and I wouldn't buy any of the other cheaper "non genuine" ones that don't come sealed up......
     
  16. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Yep they look like the good ones. The dodgy ones (although work 100%) have the chip replaced. They do work although the batteries dont ever seem to be replaced. Iv seen them 4 or 5 times now with clients having issues with there remotes (no battery), if the damn battery were replaced too.. they would be perfect.
     
  17. The1

    The1 A Memcal a Day Keeps..

    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    QLD
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 Berlina Auto
  18. Joelene

    Joelene Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    REPLY
    It amazes me that Holden in particular can source products for the factory line whether it be Eurovox radios or remote keys which they probably pay $100 and $10 respectively, allow the supplier to push 500 a day through for 10 years, then push the price up for spares to $1000 a radio and $180 a remote key when the supply drops to the line. I am guessing it is the suppliers that go high price for low quantity.

    I will give another example. Map pockets on VT-VX do not take mapbooks. They break. Solution? During the production run you could buy a repair kit from Holden for $25. They are now $125 because they don't lock the supplier in. They now source in low run quantites from another supplier and you pay the price. Solution is to buy the two plastic seat back clips, "break" the seat back clips, repair the pocket yourself and reinstall new clips. Save $120.

    The remotes should have been made with a removable back. The battery can be bought at any $2 shop. The blade doesn't wear out nor the PCB. Just the battery. At least they made it replaceable in the VE. Same battery. Probably same PCB in a different shape.

    Paid $110 each yesterday for a genuine VT and a VZ remote. Both are the same remote but the VZ programs up differently.

    Locksmith takes code from old remote, programs laser cutter that cuts new key from program rather than old key. Programs remote with VT or VZ software.

    Open car with new key, not with remote as it won't work yet. Place in ignition, start and run above 2,500 rpm for 30 seconds. Stop car. Get out and try all remote buttons.

    On the VZ they need to know what number keys you have as the key is programmed number 1, number 2 etc. They can read it from the old remote anyway. If you happen to take number 1 key in for copying then call the new key number 2 then go home and find a second key that is already number 2, then the number 2's (ha ha) will work alternately, i.e the first number 2 will work, the second one won't. But when you use the second key in the ignition it will re-activate the remote and then the first number 2 won't work again, so make sure if you have two keys already call the next ones 3,4 etc.....
     
  19. Drewie

    Drewie Active Member

    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    East of Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VX SS (Original owner).
    The workshop I use has the software to access the keys data from the computer in the car, which is what Holden Dealers do, he was programming 2 new keys for a WH Statesman the other day when I was in there, not sure if it makes any difference which way it is done, his price was about the same price as the local locksmith.
    I am still using my original keys that came with the car when I bought it new back in 2001, they still seem to be working fine except for the stuffed rubber buttons.
    The keys have had very little use though as the car has only done 84K in 13 years so I guess that is why the keys are still working ok, must get around to getting a couple of new ones though.
     
  20. Brett23101961

    Brett23101961 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    New South Wales
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Berlina series 2 Gen 3
    Thanks for the info on programming key fob mate. It works a treat. Thank you.
     

Share This Page