Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Remote unlocking fail

Pcal

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Series II Omega LPG
Hello all,

The buttons on my key head were falling apart, so I ordered a replacement set online. Did the same thing when we first bought the car for the 2nd key (that she indoors uses) which was falling apart at the time - and all was well on that occasion.

This time, I pulled the case open and replaced the skin, but after I had it back together, the remote is not working at all. I can hear the switch mechanism clicking on the board in the key head, but the car is not responding in any way. It had been working perfectly before the change. The 2nd key still works fine.

I could almost accept that I'd just fritzed the transmitter (I'm an electrical technician, and am pretty sure I didn't - but whatever), but that the transponder also seems to be not working. I can unlock the door with the key in the lock, but doing so sets off the alarm every time. Never got to trying it in the ignition, because the alarm was going off (which I stopped with the other key).

Could I have left the battery off for too long so the key and car forgot about each other? (only a few minutes - the new shell didn't want to clip together to start with), or is some other malady more likely?

Thanks in anticipation...

Asmodai78

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Calais V Sportwagon
it might sound stupid but did you put the battery in the right way?

lmoengnr

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
If the alarm goes off, put the key in the ignition and turn it on, alarm should cancel.
If you replaced the shell, did the transponder get swapped over as well?

Pcal

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Series II Omega LPG